Abel Tasman Coast Track – Great Walk

18 November 2018
stillwell bay abel tasman

During my stay in New Zealand I wanted to do at least one great walk! It was my first hike on few days in autonomy. I chose Abel Tasman Coast Track because it’s known as “easy” and is the sunniest region of New Zealand!

  • Booking

The reservation is made on the DOC website. For information, if you have a WHV and at the time of the hike you’ve been in NZ for more than 6 months you can have the local rate! Attention DOC can ask you a proof for the 6 months. In practice, when you book, indicate that your country is the NZ (and not your passeport’s country). The 2018 rate for a night in a hut is $38 ($75 for tourists or NZ for less than 6 months).

You must have with you the paper reservation (you can go print it in an i-site). Attention in the huts there is no electricity neither shower nor stove. It’s really just a hut to sleep on a mattress and make a fire if it’s cold.

  • The route

  • Day 1 : Marahau to Anchorage

After a quick visit to the Motueka i-site to book the return bus I go to the Abel Tasman Coast Track in Marahau. I start the hike at 11am. The weather was slightly cloudy at first but the sky cleared then. Even in the off-season you can see a lot of hikers who are only part of the great walk or just wander on the day.

This first day can stop on a lot of beaches so I advise you to start a little earlier to enjoy! The course is relatively easy, perfect for a warm up! Only the end on the somewhat arid paths seems endless 😥. It is 12.4 km long without counting the detours beach. In general it’s necessary to go down the main road by another short way but often abrupt! You will easily find toilets and water (not drinkable).

Apple tree bay

Stillwell bay (one of my favorite of the hike!)

Upon arrival in Anchorage, the hut is fairly new. There are USB ports to charge your phone if needed. In theory there is a little WIFI but it did not work! And since I didn’t have enough, I pushed to Te Pukatea bay! After laying my backpack in the hut I felt still great enough for this detour 😉.

Te Pukatea bay

  • Day 2 : Anchorage to Bark Bay

Before starting the hike I said “every time there are options not to go at low tide I will take them to see a few more things”. Well actually after the first day to carry my bag I changed my mind😅. So I waited until low tide to start this day! Besides, you will have to take off your shoes and walk on lots of shells (not very nice). If you have the opportunity to bring shoes to go in the water and you have sensitive feet, do not hesitate!

Anchorage at low tide

Sandfly bay

This beach is often cited as one of the most beautiful beaches in New Zealand, it was impossible for me to not go! I advise you to find a place to hide your bag because the path is very damaged and steep, to see this beach you need to deserves it!

Meadland beach bay

You can feel that this portion is already a little less borrowed, less toilet and water! When I saw there were on that beach had it I stopped to take a short break 😊.

Bark bay

Arriving close to this beach I was amazed by these landscapes so improbable in New Zealand, I felt in New Caledonia! After leaving my bag I went back to enjoy this beautiful beach!

During this day you hike 11,4km. As the day before, the beginning of the day was a little overcast and the blue sky appeared next. Most people you meet in a hut (or on the trail for those who sleep in a tent) will accompany you to the end of the hike! It’s very nice to find the same heads all the way!

  • Day 3 Bark Bay to Awaroa

For this day, planned to leave before low tide to be present at Onetahuti which is 4.6 km (1h45 according to the indication of the DOC).

Tonga quarry

After a good ascent / descent you arrive on this beach. And there the attraction was: weka! (And their babies) Besides, these birds are not shy at all and very thieves! They don’t hesitate to search your bag for food (I almost lost my bag with my bread 😅).

Onetahuti

Arriving on this beautiful beach you will not see immediately the track panel. It’s actually at the end of the beach! In front of this beauty and with a great sun I took the opportunity to have a picnic break 😍.

Awaroa

At the end of the hike, the arrival on Awaroa at low tide is truly magical! The turquoise blue is really impressive, worthy of the most beautiful islands of the Pacific! If you have the courage there is a cafe accessible on the track (with food) but it’s a long detour!

The full day is 13.5km. The hut has a cold shower if you want it!

  • Day 4 Awaroa to Whariwharangi

The beginning of this day can only be officially done between 1.5 hours before and 2 hours after low tide. Arriving the day before the DOC informs us that we can not start the direct path before 13h (while the low tide is at 13h17) but that bypassing a little we can start the day around noon. Around 11:30 we saw hikers cross in the other direction. One of us had binoculars and told us that they only had water up to the knee. So we all took the path of hiking and actually crossing was easy.

Looking at the profile, we had all said “it’s going today it’s flat”. And not really! After the crossing there is a good climb to the peak (in the sun), it’s I think the one that has the most marked! At the end there are two small passes but in reality it’s quite easy. It rises slowly with a lot of fake dishes to “rest” a little. Being the longest day (16.9km) and started quite late I didn’t dawdle much to arrive before dark.

Totaranui

Arrival in this small village is quite psychologically not easy. Yes, because here there is a road, cars returning to the city, etc. It’s tempting to say “I could ask someone to bring me back”. But after a “water” break at the campsite I continued walking. To continue you will have to walk on the road first (it’s not very well indicated).

Then you would start to meet runners who come to practice in a “trail” environment.

Anapai

I did a mini break in Anapai just to relax a little bit!

Mutton Cove

Then at Mutton Cove you will find a campsite with toilets and water (hallelujah!). It’s here (at the end of the beach) that you can start the detour to go to Separation Point and hope to see some seals.

The evening hut is one of the oldest in New Zealand. It’s really beautiful! Arriving a little late a couple had already started a fire to warm up the interior, a real pleasure! There are rooms upstairs that benefit from the rise of the heat 😊.

  • Day 5 Whariwharangi to Wainui

I thought this morning would be made only of forest with “nothing to see”. Well I was very pleasantly surprised by this stunning view!

I had my bus scheduled at 11am. I arrived with a little margin to be sure. The hike was quite short (5.7km). I booked until Takaka only and did the rest hitchhiking. And thankfully because on the parking in 45 minutes I did not see anyone leave! The hikers of the day arrived but no one left!

In Takaka I finally waited only 10 minutes. Then at the junction with the road that leads to Marahau only 2 minutes (the first car actually).

  • Report

I am really happy to have launched myself this challenge! It was not easy every day and I was happy to find a bed (and a shower !!!) on Sunday night when returning to Nelson. I had a small bulb (due to a badly cut nail) so not much foot issue😉. On the other hand even if with my lifestraw bottle I can take water from the river I was sometimes lacking water on the course so do not hesitate to take the contents of two bottles!

Clearly for those who are good walkers you can largely save one day less. And if you’re doing the Abel Tasman Coast Track with your tent, even if you’re not a great walker, spread the night stops better in just 3 nights.

For the period, I really had a great weather in mid-October. It was a little cold at night, but it was already quite hot during the day! And with the bag on the back I think it would have been much more complicated to do it in the summer for me. While it was a bit too cold to swim but even in summer New Zealand is a little cold for me😅.

  • Content of my bag

During the preparation of this hike I didn’t find a lot of information on “what to put in your bag”. So I made a list for you but also to know if I made my bag correctly for the next time😉.

  • Food

I needed 3 meals a day over 4/5 days so 12 in total. I took :

– 2 noodles
– 1 banana bread
– 1 soft bread
– 1 peanut butter
– 3 energy bars and 3 cereals bars
– 3 energy gels 
– 1 pringles
– 4 drinkable yogourt
– 1 corn
– 1 tuna
– 1/2 crackers pack

  • Personal stuff

I took :

– 1 short
– 1 tracksuit jacket
– 1 sleeping bag
– 1 small pillow
– 5 tee shirts
– 5 spare parts of underwear
– 1 pyjama
– Toiletry bag (with deodorant, wipe, brush, hairband, ecological soap, tiger baulm, sanitary gel, moisturiser cream, sandfly product)
– 1 jandal
– phone charger
– gas stove
– 1 small gas bottle
– 1 spoon
– 1 knife
– 2 small towels
– 1 flash light
– 1 lifestraw bottle
– camera + lens + gopro
– sunglasses

I had exactly what I needed in food! (Well I had a little peanut butter left but not easy to finish the pot in 4 days 😅)
I used only two energy gels

I seriously missed a nail cut! Even if I did not have long fingernails a small adjustment in friction is still needed!
I would have preferred to have more energy bars and less cereal bars (they have a better taste).
My bag was to heavy! Maybe invest in freeze-dried food next time! And take a smaller pot of peanut butter, it weighs!

Well clearly the charger phone only served me the first night because recent hut with USB plug but otherwise not useful.

You Might Also Like

1 Comment

  • Reply Côte ouest de l'île du Sud et Arthur's Pass - Travel and run Wednesday November 28th, 2018 at 02:41 AM

    […] ma rando dans Abel Tasman et ma journée dans la Golden bay je suis allée sur la West Coast. Ici clairement quand il fait un […]

  • Leave a Reply

    Mentions légales/Legal


    Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

    Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


    %d bloggers like this:

Abel Tasman Coast Track – Great Walk

18 novembre 2018
stillwell bay abel tasman

Lors de mon séjour en Nouvelle Zélande je voulais faire au moins une great walk! C’était ma première rando sur plusieurs jours en autonomie. J’ai choisi Abel Tasman Coast Track car elle est réputée « facile » et c’est la région la plus ensoleillée de Nouvelle Zélande!

  • Réservation

La réservation se fait sur le site du DOC. Pour information, si vous avez un WHV et qu’au moment de la rando cela fait plus de 6 mois que vous êtes en NZ vous pouvez profiter du tarif local! Attention on peut vous demander un justificatif prouvant les 6 mois. En pratique, lorsque vous réservez, indiquez que votre pays est la NZ (et non pas la France). Le tarif 2018 d’une nuit en hutte est de $38 ($75 pour les touristes ou en NZ depuis moins de 6 mois).

Vous devez avoir avec vous la réservation en papier (vous pouvez aller l’imprimer dans un i-site). Attention dans les huttes il n’y a ni électricité ni douche ni réchaud. C’est vraiment juste une « cabane » permettant de dormir sur un matelas et de faire du feu s’il fait froid.

  • Le parcours

  • Day 1 : Marahau à Anchorage

Après une petite visite au i-site de Motueka pour réserver le bus je me rends au départ de l’Abel Tasman Coast Track à Marahau. Je commence alors la rando à 11h. Le temps était légèrement nuageux au départ mais le ciel s’est dégagé ensuite. Même en hors saison on croise pas mal de randonneurs qui ne font qu’une partie de la great walk ou juste venu se promener sur la journée.

Cette première journée permet de s’arrêter sur pas mal de plages donc je vous conseille de la commencer un peu plus tôt pour pouvoir bien profiter! Le parcours est relativement facile, parfait pour une mise en jambe! Seule la fin sur des chemins un peu arides parait interminable 😥. Il est long de 12,4 km sans compter les petits détours plage. En général il faut descendre du chemin principal par un autre chemin court mais souvent abrupte! Vous trouverez facilement des toilettes et de l’eau (non potable).

Apple tree bay

Stillwell bay (une de mes préférées de la rando!)

A l’arrivée à Anchorage, la hutte est assez récente. Il y a des ports USB pour charger votre téléphone si besoin. En théorie il y a un peu de WIFI mais cela ne fonctionnait pas! Et comme j’en avais pas assez, j’ai poussé jusqu’à Te Pukatea bay! Après avoir déposé mon sac à dos dans la hutte je me sentais encore assez légère pour ce détour 😉.

Te Pukatea bay

  • Day 2 : Anchorage à Bark Bay

Avant de commencer la rando je m’étais dis « aller à chaque fois qu’il y a des options pour ne pas passer à marée basse je les prendrai pour voir un peu plus de choses ». Oui bon alors en fait après la première à porter mon sac j’ai changé d’avis 😅. J’ai donc attendu l’heure de marée basse pour commencer cette journée! D’ailleurs il vous faudra enlever vos chaussures et marcher sur pleins de coquillages (pas très agréable). Si vous avez la possibilité d’amener des chaussures pour aller dans l’eau et que vous avez les pieds sensibles, n’hésitez pas!

Anchorage à marée basse

Sandfly bay

Cette plage est souvent citée comme une des plus belles plages de Nouvelle Zélande, impossible pour moi de faire l’impasse! Je vous conseille de trouver un coin pour cacher votre sac car le chemin est très accidenté et pentu, voir cette plage ça se mérite!

Meadland beach bay

On sent que cette portion est déjà un peu moins empruntée, moins de toilettes et surtout d’eau! Quand j’ai vu que cette plage en avait je me suis arrêtée faire une petite pause 😊.

Bark bay

En arrivant à proximité de cette plage j’étais émerveillée par ces paysages si improbables en Nouvelle Zélande, je me suis sentie en Nouvelle Calédonie! Après avoir déposé mon sac je suis retournée profiter de cette superbe plage!

Durant cette journée on parcours 11,4km. Comme la veille le début de la journée était un peu couvert et le ciel bleu est apparu ensuite. La plupart des personnes que vous rencontrerez en hutte (ou sur le parcours pour ceux qui dorment en tente) vous accompagneront jusqu’au bout de la rando! C’est très sympa de retrouver les mêmes têtes sur tout le parcours!

  • Day 3 Bark Bay à Awaroa

Pour cette journée, prévoyais de partir avant la marée basse pour qu’elle soit présente à Onetahuti qui est à 4,6 km (1h45 d’après l’indication du DOC).

Tonga quarry

Après une bonne montée/descente vous arrivez sur cette plage. Et là l’attraction était : les weka! (Et leurs bébés). D’ailleurs ces oiseaux ne sont pas farouches du tout et très voleurs! Ils n’hésitent pas à aller fouiller dans votre sac à la recherche de nourriture (j’ai failli perdre mon sac avec mon pain 😅).

Onetahuti

En arrivant sur cette magnifique plage vous ne verrez pas tout de suite le panneau du track. Il est en fait tout au bout de la plage! Devant cette beauté et avec un super soleil j’en ai profité pour faire une pause pique nique 😍.

Awaroa

En fin de rando, l’arrivée sur Awaroa à marée basse est vraiment magique! Le bleu turquoise est vraiment impressionnant, digne des plus belles îles du Pacifique! Si vous en avez le courage il y a un café accessible sur le track (avec à manger) mais cela fait quand même un bon détour!

La journée complète fait 13,5km. La hutte possède une douche froide si vous cela vous tente!

  • Day 4 Awaroa à Whariwharangi

Le début de cette journée ne peut se faire officiellement qu’entre 1,5h avant et 2h après la marée basse. En arrivant la veille le DOC nous informe qu’on ne peut pas commencer le chemin direct avant 13h (alors que la marée basse est à 13h17) mais qu’en contournant un peu on peut commencer la journée vers midi. Vers 11h30 on a aperçu des randonneurs traverser dans l’autre sens. L’un d’entre nous avait des jumelles et nous a dit qu’ils n’avaient de l’eau que jusqu’au genou. On a donc tous pris le chemin de rando et effectivement la traversée s’est faite facilement.

En regardant le profil, on s’était tous dit « ça va aujourd’hui c’est plat ». Et ben pas vraiment! Après la traversée il y a une bonne montée à pic (au soleil), c’est je crois celle qui m’a le plus marquée!! A la fin il y a deux petits cols mais en réalité c’est assez facile. Ça monte doucement avec pas mal de faux plats pour se « reposer » un peu. Etant la journée la plus longue (16,9km) et commencée assez tard j’ai pas trop traîné pour arriver largement avant la nuit.

Totaranui

Arrivée dans ce petit village c’est assez éprouvant psychologiquement. Oui parce qu’ici il y a une route, des voitures qui retournent en ville, etc. C’est tentant de se dire « aller je demande à quelqu’un de me ramener ». Mais après une pause « eau » au camping j’ai continué tranquillement la marche. Pour la suite vous devrez dans un premier temps marcher sur la route (c’est pas très bien indiqué).

Ensuite vous commencerait à croiser des runneurs qui viennent s’exercer en milieu « trail ».

Anapai

J’ai quand même fait une mini pause à Anapai histoire de se ressourcer un peu!

Mutton Cove

Ensuite à Mutton Cove vous trouverez un camping avec toilettes et eau (hallelujah!). C’est ici (au bout de la plage) que vous pouvez entamer le détour pour aller à Separation Point et espérer voir quelques seals.

La hutte du soir est l’une des plus ancienne de Nouvelle Zélande. Elle est vraiment magnifique! Arrivant un peu tard un couple avait déjà allumé du feu pour réchauffer l’intérieur, un vrai plaisir! Il y a des chambres à l’étage qui profitent de la montée du la chaleur 😊.

  • Day 5 Whariwharangi à Wainui

Je pensais que cette matinée serait faite uniquement de forêt avec « rien à voir ». Et bien j’ai été très agréablement surprise par cette superbe vue!

J’avais mon bus prévu à 11h. Je suis arrivée avec un peu de marge pour être sûre. La rando était assez courte (5,7km). J’avais réservé jusqu’à Takaka uniquement et fait le reste en stop. Et heureusement car sur le parking en 45 minutes je n’ai vu personne repartir! Les randonneurs de la journée arrivaient mais personne ne repartait!

A Takaka j’ai finalement attendu seulement 10 minutes. Puis au croisement avec la route qui mène à Marahau seulement 2 minutes (la première voiture en fait).

  • Bilan personnel

Je suis vraiment très contente de m’être lancé ce défi! Cela n’a pas été tous les jours facile et j’étais bien contente de retrouver un lit (et une douche!!!) le dimanche soir en rentrant à Nelson. J’ai eu qu’une petite ampoule (due à un ongle mal coupé) donc pas grand chose niveau pied 😉. Par contre même si avec ma gourde lifestraw je peux prendre de l’eau de rivière j’ai été parfois en manque d’eau sur le parcours donc n’hésitez pas à prendre le contenu de deux gourde!

Clairement pour ceux qui sont des bons marcheurs vous pouvez largement mettre une journée de moins. Et si vous faites l’Abel Tasman Coast Track avec votre tente, même si vous n’êtes pas un super marcheur, répartissez mieux les stops nuit pour le faire en 3 nuits seulement.

Pour la période, j’ai vraiment eu un super temps mi-octobre. Il faisait un peu frais la nuit mais par contre il faisait déjà bien assez chaud la journée! Et avec le sac sur le dos je pense que ça aurait été beaucoup plus compliqué de le faire en été pour moi.  Certes il faisait un peu trop froid pour se baigner mais même en été la Nouvelle Zélande c’est un peu frais pour moi 😅.

  • Contenu de mon sac

Lors de la préparation de cette rando j’ai trouvé peu d’infos sur « quoi mettre dans son sac ». J’ai donc fait une petite liste pour vous mais aussi pour savoir si j’ai bien fait mon sac pour les prochaines fois 😉.

  • Nourriture

J’avais besoin de 3 repas par jour sur 4/5 jours donc 12 au total. J’avais pris :

– 2 noodles
– 1 banana bread
– 1 pain de mie
– 1 pot de beurre de cacahuète
– 3 barres énergétiques et 3 barres de céréales
– 3 gels énergétiques
– 1 boite de pringles
– 4 yaourt à boire
– 1 boite de maïs
– 1 boite de thon
– 1/2 paquet de crackers

  • Affaires personnelles

J’avais pris :

– 1 short
– 1 veste de survêtement
– 1 sac de couchage
– 1 petit oreiller
– 5 tee shirts
– 5 rechanges de sous-vêtements
– 1 pyjama
– Trousse de toilette (avec déo, lingette, brosse, élastique, savon écologique, baume du tigre, gel pour les mains, crème hydratante, du produit anti sandfly)
– 1 paire de claquette
– chargeur de téléphone
– réchaud
– 1 petite bonbonne de gaz
– 1 cuillère
– 1 couteau
– 2 petites serviettes
– 1 lampe de poche
– 1 gourde lifestraw
– appareil photo + objectif + gopro
– mes lunettes de soleil

J’avais pile poil ce qu’il fallait en nourriture! (bon ok il me restait un peu de beurre de cacahuète mais pas facile de finir le pot en 4 jours 😅)
Je n’ai utilisé que deux gels énergétiques

Il m’a gravement manqué un coupe ongle! Même si je n’avais pas les ongles des pieds longs un petit ajustement au niveau des frottements est toujours nécessaire!
J’aurais préféré avoir plus de barres énergétiques et moins de barres de céréales (elles ont un meilleur goût).
Mon sac était trop lourd! Peut-être investir dans le lyophilisé la prochaine fois! Et prendre un plus petit pot de beurre de cacahuète, ça pèse!

Bon clairement le chargeur téléphone ne m’a servi que la première nuit car hutte récente avec prise USB mais sinon pas d’utilité.

Vous aimerez aussi peut être

Commentaire

  • Reply Côte ouest de l'île du Sud et Arthur's Pass - Travel and run mercredi 28 novembre 2018 at 02:41

    […] ma rando dans Abel Tasman et ma journée dans la Golden bay je suis allée sur la West Coast. Ici clairement quand il fait un […]

  • Laisser un commentaire

    Mentions légales/Legal


    Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

    Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


    %d blogueurs aiment cette page :