A weekend at Waiheke Island

12 May 2018
Little Oneroa Waiheke Island

On the occasion of his half marathon I spent a weekend at Waiheke Island, a small island off Auckland. I am talking here about this beautiful island and I prepare an article for the race’s minute (and my Frequency Running’s preparation ).

  • Presentation and access

Waiheke Island is a small island off Auckland. It is accessed via a ferry ($38 return) from Auckland Harbor, allow about 45 minutes, each hour). The local bus company serves the island very well. And since it’s the same company as Auckland you can use your At Hop card.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The main village (the first one coming from the ferry) is quite touristy. If you move a little further you will be more immersed in the “countryside”. If you are a wine lover you are at the right place 😊 You can visit vineyards, most are also table d’hôte. But beware it will cost around $15 for a glass!

The island does not have a water management system, so the inhabitants have their own water salvage circuit! Here we pay attention to our water consumption, we do not stay 1h in the shower, etc. On the other hand, the insular effect has a big black spot: the management of bulky waste … Each property has its small “pile” of bulky items to throw at the end of their driveway (ie at the edge of the road!).

  • Waiheke Island Guest House

During my first stay in New Zealand in 2016 I came across the Instagram profile of this Guest House. I had promised myself to stay there one day! This Guest House is located in the village of Ostend. I don’t know why Belgium is going to do a bit tour here but the main street is called “Belgium street”. The guest house is located on a direct bus line from the ferry and a 10-minute walk from the bus stop.

Its relaxing environment and its alpacas made me crack! It is certainly far from the “backpackers” budget ($140 per night) but we must also have fun with some crazy ideas from time to time. The owner is very friendly and welcoming! You will have explanations on the main interests and beautiful spots of the island. If you arrive at mealtime you can feed alpacas as well. A kitchen (as well as fresh eggs, tea / coffee, milk) are at your disposal.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

While I was waiting for the bus for the race Grant finally offered me the lift, with the encouragement and hugs of the dog Shanti 😍. The same evening I went to the “Sunset point” advised, unfortunately there were too many clouds but the view was splendid!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Waiheke Island beaches

Here the nature etablished itself! And besides close to most beaches it has absolutely no facilities dedicated to tourists. It’s pretty good! I stayed only on the western part of the island for lack of time (and with the autumn temperatures it was not possible anyway to swim!).

Palm beach (don’t miss the second beach on the left!)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Little Oneroa

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

road trip waiheke island

You Might Also Like

5 Comments

  • Reply Jessica Sunday May 13th, 2018 at 10:37 PM

    Tu viens de me donner envie de partir 🙂

    • Reply Travelandrun Monday May 14th, 2018 at 02:05 AM

      J’ai pas testé les plages en été mais franchement ca donne envie d’y retourner en haute saison 🙂

  • Reply Hellobeautymag Monday May 14th, 2018 at 04:29 PM

    Coucou,

    merci pour cette visiste de l’île!
    Maryline

    • Reply Travelandrun Tuesday May 15th, 2018 at 12:46 AM

      Avec plaisir 🙂

  • Reply Floriane - 1 billetpour Friday July 20th, 2018 at 10:50 AM

    C’est vraiment hyper mignon ça donne envie. Oui tu as raison parfois il faut se faire plaisir 🙂

  • Leave a Reply

    Mentions légales/Legal


    Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

    Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


    %d bloggers like this:

Un week-end à Waiheke Island

12 mai 2018
Little Oneroa Waiheke Island

A l’occasion de son semi marathon j’ai passé un week-end à Waiheke Island, petite île au large d’Auckland. Je vous parle ici de cette belle île et je vous prépare un article pour le compte rendu de la course (et de ma préparation Fréquence Running).

  • Présentation et accès

Waiheke Island est une petite île au large d’Auckland. On y accède via un ferry ($38 l’aller retour) depuis le port d’Auckland, comptez 45 minutes environ, il y en a toutes les heures). La société de bus locale dessert très bien l’île. Et comme c’est la même compagnie qu’Auckland vous pouvez utiliser votre At Hop card.

Ce diaporama nécessite JavaScript.

Le village principal (le premier en venant du ferry) est assez touristique. Si vous vous éloignez un peu vous serez plus immergé dans « la campagne ». Si vous êtes amateur de vin vous êtes au bon endroit 😊 Vous pouvez visiter des vignobles, la plupart font également table d’hôte. Mais attention il faudra débourser aux alentours de $15 pour un verre!

L’île ne possède pas de système de gestion d’eau, les habitants ont donc leurs propres circuit de récupération d’eau! Ici on fait donc attention à notre consommation d’eau, on reste pas 1h sous la douche, etc. Par contre l’effet insulaire a un gros point noir : la gestion des déchets encombrants… Chaque propriété a son petit « tas » d’encombrants à jeter au bout de leur allée (ie au bord de la route!).

  • Waiheke Island Guest House

Lors de mon premier séjour en Nouvelle Zélande en 2016 je suis tombée par hasard sur le profil Instagram de cette Guest House. Je m’étais alors promis d’y séjourner un jour! Cette Guest House se situe dans le village d’Ostend. Je ne sais pas pourquoi la Belgique vient faire un petit tour ici mais la rue principale s’appelle « Belgium street ». La guest house est située sur une ligne de bus directe depuis le ferry et à 10 minutes à pied de l’arrêt de bus.

Son cadre relaxant et ses alpacas m’ont fait craquer! On est certes loin du budget « backpackers » ($140 la nuit) mais il faut aussi se faire plaisir avec quelques folies de temps en temps. Le propriétaire est très sympa et accueillant! Vous aurez des explications sur les principaux intérêts de l’île et les plus beaux spots. Si arrivez à l’heure du repas des alpacas vous pouvez les nourrir aussi. Une cuisine (ainsi que des œufs frais, du thé/café, du lait) sont à votre disposition.

Ce diaporama nécessite JavaScript.

En attendant le bus pour la course Grant m’a finalement proposé le lift, avec les encouragements et calins de la chienne Shanti 😍. Le soir même je suis allée au « point Sunset » conseillé, malheureusement il y avait trop de nuages mais la vue était splendide!

Ce diaporama nécessite JavaScript.

  • Les plages de Waiheke Island

Ici c’est la nature qui s’impose! Et d’ailleurs à proximité de la plupart des plages il n’a absolument aucune installation dédiée aux touristes. C’est plutôt pas mal! Je suis restée que sur la partie ouest de l’île par manque de temps (et avec les températures automnales il n’était de toute façon pas envisageable de se baigner!).

Palm beach (ne loupez par la deuxième plage sur la gauche!)

Ce diaporama nécessite JavaScript.

Little Oneroa

Ce diaporama nécessite JavaScript.

road trip waiheke island

Vous aimerez aussi peut être

5 Commentaires

  • Reply Jessica dimanche 13 mai 2018 at 22:37

    Tu viens de me donner envie de partir 🙂

    • Reply Travelandrun lundi 14 mai 2018 at 02:05

      J’ai pas testé les plages en été mais franchement ca donne envie d’y retourner en haute saison 🙂

  • Reply Hellobeautymag lundi 14 mai 2018 at 16:29

    Coucou,

    merci pour cette visiste de l’île!
    Maryline

    • Reply Travelandrun mardi 15 mai 2018 at 00:46

      Avec plaisir 🙂

  • Reply Floriane - 1 billetpour vendredi 20 juillet 2018 at 10:50

    C’est vraiment hyper mignon ça donne envie. Oui tu as raison parfois il faut se faire plaisir 🙂

  • Laisser un commentaire

    Mentions légales/Legal


    Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

    Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


    %d blogueurs aiment cette page :