Melbourne’s hostels – VIC

10 October 2019

After a few days spent in Melbourne in 2018 and 1 month in 2019, especially for the Australian Open, I had the opportunity to test no less than 6 hostels! I give you here my opinion on each one of them.

  • For comfortable budgets

  • Space hotel

If you really have a comfortable budget (especially in the summer) I recommend this hostel. This is really the must of hostels! I had the opportunity to stay there in May so the rates were still reasonable ($ 32 a night) compared to over $ 45 in summer time! They make weeks formulas including two dinners. The first time I entered this hostel I felt like a real hotel. It is located at 380 Russel Street in the north central part of Melbourne. I have not tested in summer but I imagine that given the range there must be AC.

Positive points :

– Cleanliness
– Mini bathrooms (once entered you will have toilet, sink, shower for you)
– Very large kitchen, recent and with lots of tables
– Large individual cupboard + shelf with light and personal electrical outlets
– Bar with pool on the ground floor
– Rooftop with spa, gym, movie theater

Negative points :

– The price
– Slightly off-center (even if the center is not very big to walk)
– Atmosphere a bit colder than in other hostels

  • United

Although it’s a bit cheaper than the space hotel ($ 32 in summer) this hostel is still one of the most expensive in the city. I stayed only two nights (no availibility in other hostels) and it did not feel thrilled more than that. It is however very well located 250 Flinders street. My room did not have AC, just some fans.

Positive points :

– Location
– Nice common spaces
– Bar with organized games in the basement and a drink offered for each reservation

Negative points :

– Not a lot of bathrooms
– The fan above the head (yes because I do not like it at all!)
– The price

  • For parties

  • Ritz for backpackers

This is the hostel where I stayed at the beginning of my stay in Melbourne. Well, at St Kilda, 169B Fitzroy Street. Actually I was a skint and I said to myself that with some free food at least I would not starve! But the hostels celebrations is not too much of my thing, at least in Australia where the occupants spend part of the night sitting on the ground on the sidewalk to drink goon … The rooms are overcrowded because as the groups want to stay together (and not always room for renewal) couples sleep in a single small bed to leave a bed (so free) to friends.

Positive points :

– Location (near beach and chapel street)
– Free food (pasta, rice, pancakes)

Negative points :

– No respect for the no party-goers, no management by the managers
– Some bathrooms need to ne renovated
– The kitchen is quite small
– The relatively high price for quality
– Manager not always very nice
– Two people max who can work in exchange for the bed

  • The lower end hostels

  • All Nations

I stayed here for one night on my first visit to Melbourne ($ 25 in low season). It’s located 2 spencer street. I was coming back from the Great Ocean Road and had my plane early the next day. It’s a little less good in range but it’s still correct. But it’s common showers (male / female) and it’s not really the luxury. There were only workers in my room who had left the window open all night (in May!).

Positive points :

– Location (near the southern so perfect for the skybus)
– Not expensive

Negative points :

– Old fashionned
– Noisy (train AND tram)

  • Greenhouse

Stayed 2-3 nights while the Europa hostel was full ($ 29 / night in the summer). It is located 228 Flinders Lane. The hostel itself is very good but the attendance is not always top. In any case I had a bad experience. Workers who come back in the room drunk at 4am, are very very noisy, not able to lie in their beds. There was someone else with me who had a surprise drunk guest in bed because he had fallen 😯 He had requested to change rooms the next day but the next was obviously worse … I saw in Google that it was closed for a while, they may have done some improvement work.

Positive points :

– Location (direct in the center but not on a big artery and close to the police station)
– Nice common areas
– Security (access to each floor with a badge)

Negative points :

– Potentially not that great company

  • The best

  • Europa

For me it’s the best hostel I tested in Melbourne. I found that the managers had taken all the good sides of the hostels of the city trying to do the same. So certainly it’s not as “top” as the space hotel but it’s much more correct in price ($ 27 per night in summer) so we can not expect as much in infrastructure. It is located at 310 Queen Street. For me it’s the best value for money in Melbourne.

Positive points :

– Mini bathrooms (once you enter you will have toilet, sink, shower for you but not as well ventilated as the space hotel)
– Cold room (but be careful with the theft so pack well in bags so that your food is not easily “catchable”)
– Individual closet + shelf with light and electrical outlets + curtains in the beds (after it’s difficult to go to hostels without!)
– Free food (pasta, rice, pancakes)
– A lot of possibility to do housework in exchange for housing

Negative points :

– Slightly off-center (even if the center is not very big to walk)
– A bit too open to everyone (easy to get in) so it happens that there is a squatter on the sofas
– Common part (chill) rather small
– The rooms in the basement are really hot in summer

PS: I did not try the really low-end at $ 15 a night because some serve squatting homeless and drug users. Look at the reviews before booking!

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mentions légales/Legal


Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


%d bloggers like this:

Les auberges de Melbourne – VIC

10 octobre 2019

Après quelques jours passés à Melbourne en 2018 et 1 mois en 2019, notamment pour l’Open d’Australie, j’ai eu l’occasion de tester pas moins de 6 auberges! Je vous livre ici mon avis sur chacune d’entre elles.

  • Pour les bons budget

  • Space hotel

Si vous avez vraiment un bon budget (surtout l’été) je vous conseille cette auberge. C’est vraiment le must des auberges! J’ai eu l’occasion d’y séjourner mais en mai donc les tarifs étaient encore raisonnables ($32 la nuit) contre plus de $45 en été! Ils font des formules semaines incluant deux dîners. La première fois que je suis entrée dans cette auberge j’ai eu l’impression d’être dans un vrai hôtel. Elle est située au 380 Russel street dans la partie nord du centre de Melbourne. Je n’ai pas testé en été mais j’imagine que vu la gamme il doit y avoir la clim

Les plus :

– Propreté
– Mini salles de bains (une fois entré vous aurez toilettes, lavabo, douche pour vous)
– Très grande cuisine, récente et avec beaucoup de tables
– Un grand placard individuel + tablette avec lumière et prises électriques personnelles
– Bar avec billard au rdc
– Rooftop avec spa, salle de sport, salle de cinéma

Les moins :

– Le prix
– Légèrement excentré (même si le centre n’est pas très long à parcourir à pied)
– Ambiance un peu plus froide que dans d’autres auberges

  • United

Bien que cela soit un peu moins cher que le space hotel ($32 en été) cette auberge fait quand même partie des plus chères de la ville. J’y ai passé que deux nuits (pas de dispo dans d’autres auberges) et cela ne m’a pas plus emballé que ça. Elle est toutefois très bien situé 250 Flinders street. Ma chambre n’avait pas la clim, juste des ventilos.

Les plus :

– Localisation
– Espaces communs sympa
– Bar avec jeux organisés en sous-sol et un verre offert à chaque réservation

Les moins :

– Pas beaucoup de pièces d’eau
– Le ventilo au dessus de la tête (oui car moi je n’aime pas du tout ça!)
– Le prix

  • Pour faire la fête

  • Ritz for backpackers

C’est l’auberge où je suis restée au début de mon séjour à Melbourne. Enfin à St Kilda, 169B Fitzroy street. En fait j’étais un peu à sec et je me suis dit qu’avec un peu de nourriture gratuite au moins je ne mourrais pas de faim! Mais les auberges fêtes ce n’est pas trop mon délire, en tout cas en Australie où les occupants passent une partie de la nuit assis par terre sur le trottoir à boire du goon… Les chambres sont surpeuplées car comme les groupes veulent rester ensemble (et pas toujours de place pour le renouvellement) les couples dorment dans un seul petit lit pour laisser un lit (gratos donc) aux copains.

Les plus :

– Localisation (proche plage et chapel street)
– Nourriture gratuite (pâtes, riz, pancakes)

Les moins :

– Pas de respect pour le non fêtards, aucun encadrement des gestionnaires
– Certaines pièces d’eau sont à rénover
– La cuisine est assez petite
– Le prix relativement élevé pour la qualité
– Manager pas toujours très sympa
– Deux personnes max qui peuvent travailler en échange du lit

  • Les auberges bon marché

  • All Nations

J’y suis allée une nuit lors de mon premier passage à Melbourne (25$ en basse saison). Elle est située 2 spencer street. Je revenais de la Great Ocean Road et j’avais mon avion tôt le lendemain. C’est un peu moins bon en gamme mais c’est quand même correct. Mais c’est douches communes (homme/femme) et c’est pas vraiment le grand luxe. Il y avait que des travailleurs dans ma chambre qui avaient laissés la fenêtre ouverte toute la nuit (en mai!).

Les plus :

– Localisation (proche de la southern donc parfait pour le skybus)
– Pas très cher

Les moins :

– Vieillot
– Bruyant (train ET tram)

  • Greenhouse

J’y suis allée 2-3 nuits alors que l’auberge Europa était full (29$ la nuit en été). Elle est située 228 Flinders lane. L’auberge en soit est très bien mais la fréquentation n’est pas toujours top. En tout cas j’en ai eu une mauvaise expérience. Des travailleurs qui rentrent bourrés à 4h, sont très très bruyants, pas capables de se coucher dans leurs lits. Il y avait quelqu’un d’autre avec moi qui a eu un invité bourré surprise dans son lit car il était tombé  😯  Il avait demandé à changé de chambre le lendemain mais la suivante était visiblement pire… J’ai vu dans Google qu’elle était fermée quelques temps, ils ont peut être fait des travaux d’amélioration.

Les plus :

– Localisation (direct dans le centre mais pas sur une grosse artère et à proximité du poste de police)
– Parties communes sympa
– Sécurisation (accès à chaque étage avec un badge)

Les moins :

– Fréquentation potentiellement moyenne

  • La meilleure

  • Europa

Pour moi c’est la meilleure auberge que j’ai testée à Melbourne. Je trouvais que les managers avaient pris tous les bons côtés des auberges de la ville en essayant de faire pareil. Alors certes c’est pas aussi « top » que le space hotel mais c’est beaucoup plus correct en prix (27$ la nuit en été) donc on ne peut pas attendre autant dans les infrastructures. Elle est située 310 Queen Street. Pour moi c’est le meilleur rapport qualité/prix de Melbourne.

Les plus :

– Mini salles de bains (une fois entré vous aurez toilettes, lavabo, douche pour vous mais pas aussi bien ventilée qu’au space hotel)
– Chambre froide (mais attention aux vols alors emballez bien dans des sacs pour ne pas que votre nourriture soit facilement « attrapable »)
– Un placard individuel + tablette avec lumière et prises électriques personnelles + rideaux au lits (après on a du mal à revenir aux auberges sans!)
– Nourriture gratuite (pâtes, riz, pancakes)
– Pas mal de possibilité de faire du ménage en échange du logement

Les moins :

– Légèrement excentré (même si le centre n’est pas très long à parcourir à pied)
– Un poil trop ouvert à tout le monde (facile de rentrer) du coup ça arrive qu’il y ait un squatteur sur les canapés
– Partie commune (chill) assez petite
– Les chambres en sous-sol sont vraiment chaudes en été

PS : Je n’ai pas tenté les vraiment très bas de gamme à 15$ la nuit car certaines servent de squatt aux sans abris et aux drogués. Regardez bien les commentaires avant de réserver!

Vous aimerez aussi peut être

Pas de commentaire

Laisser un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Mentions légales/Legal


Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


%d blogueurs aiment cette page :