Melbourne – City guide – VIC

1 November 2019

A question often comes up for future game-goers: Which city to choose? I only know 3 major Australian cities, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney. But I had no trouble knowing which one would suit me the most: Melbourne! I already wrote an article about the Underground Melbourne that suits me a lot more than the other two. By cons I do not recommend it in winter if you want a little heat  😉 .

  • Convenience

  • Where to stay?

I just wrote an article about hostels that I attended during my stays whether in the center or in St Kilda. If you have a good budget, it looks very nice to stay in notel. These are caravans put on a roof of Melbourne in the center! But $ 400 a night during the summer  🙄 

  • Where to eat?

If you know a little Australia you will know that healthy food is not the easiest to find! However, I recommend Famish’d salads on Little Collins street.

For burger, after seeing at each meal time a queue in front of Betty’s burger on Elizabeth Street I ended up tempted. The burger is really super good! By cons I have not found the fries exceptional…

To cool off with good icecream I recommend Pidapipo on Degraves street, ditto there is often the wait but it’s worth it! Moreover it’s open until 23h, rather rare!

Personally I love to put on a terrace in a small street like Degraves street, and to eat on the go take instead Center place 😀 . You can also go to Lentil as Anything,the concept is to pay the price that seems right to you.

Did you know that there is a large Greek community in Melbourne? The most famous restaurant is Gazi whose chef was a Chief Master Judge!

  • Where to hangout?

The bars street here is Chapel street and in particular the revolver! Otherwise there are quite a few bars with rooftop all over the city. I went to Union electric bar, very nice but unfortunately not seen … Another nice neighborhood is Fitzroy, rather babacool. You can also have a drink by the river, be careful it’s quite popular summer!

If you like salsa there are salsa parties organized at Ms Collins. For rock fans it’s the Heartbreaker or cherry bar that deserve to go.

  • Activities

  • Street art

In Melbourne you can of course take a tour of street art street like AC / DC lane. To know that there are not only in the CBD, you will also find in St Kilda, Fitzroy, Collingwood to name a few.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Museum

There are several free museums in Melbourne. I went to visit the ACMI museum based on the image. You will find a simulation of special effects like in Matrix. During my visit there was also the movie “24h”, the concept is to take part of movies from all countries in real time. For example if it’s 2:03 pm in Melbourne you will have videos of movies where it is 2:03 pm. Ditto for 2:04 pm, 2:05 pm, etc on 24h. There are some French films in the lot it was very nice to discover.

  • Beaches

The closest to town is St Kilda. In the evening you can see the little blue penguins (do not stay too close for their well being). This is where the Luna Park theme park is.

But Melbourne’s most famous beach is Brighton! Indeed it is on this beach that it finds the famous box of beaches. And the sunset is also superb!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Shopping

Side shopping I highly recommend the DFO. There is one in every Australian city, it is an outlet mall. The one in Melbourne is big enough and you will find a bit of everything. Do not hesitate to stop at Lindt take a hot chocolate, they are divine!

  • Peninsula

If you have a vehicle do not hesitate to take a little tour on the peninsula. Summer is the rendezvous of all melbourniens. I went there only very quickly. Mornington looks very nice as a little town! I also went on a short hike to Bushrangers Bay. There are kinds of small natural pools. When I went there a lot of wind so I did not go very far. It was while returning to my car that I saw my first kangaroos in the nature 😎 .

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mentions légales/Legal


Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


%d bloggers like this:

Melbourne – City guide – VIC

1 novembre 2019

Une question revient souvent chez les futurs pvtistes : Quelle ville choisir? Je ne connais que 3 grandes villes australiennes, Melbourne, Perth et Sydney. Mais je n’ai eu aucun mal à savoir laquelle me correspondrait le plus : Melbourne! J’ai déjà écrit un article sur son côté Underground qui me correspond beaucoup plus que les deux autres. Par contre je ne vous la conseille pas en hiver si vous souhaitez un peu de douceur  😉 .

  • Côté pratique

  • Où se loger?

Je viens tout juste d’écrire un article sur les auberges que j’ai fréquenté lors de mes séjours que ce soit dans le centre ou à St Kilda. Si vous avez un bon budget, ça a l’air très sympa de loger au notel. Il s’agit de caravanes posées sur un toit de Melbourne dans le centre! Mais 400$ la nuit en semaine l’été  🙄 

  • Où manger?

Si vous connaissez un peu l’Australie vous saurez que la nourriture saine n’est pas la plus facile à trouver! Je vous conseille néanmoins Famish’d salads sur Little Collins street.

Côté burger après avoir vu à chaque repas une file d’attente devant Betty’s burger sur Elizabeth street j’ai fini par me laisser tenter. Le burger est vraiment super bon! Par contre j’ai pas trouvé les frites exceptionnelles…

Pour se rafraîchir avec une bonne glace je vous conseille Pidapipo sur Degraves street, idem il y a souvent de l’attente mais ça en vaut la peine! De plus c’est ouvert jusqu’à 23h, plutôt rare!

Personnellement j’adore me mettre en terrasse dans une petite rue comme Degraves street, et pour manger sur le pouce prenez plutôt Centre place  😀 . Vous pouvez aussi aller à Lentil as Anything, le concept est de payez le prix qui vous paraît juste.

Saviez-vous qu’il y a une grande communauté grecque à Melbourne? Le restaurant le plus célèbre est Gazi dont le chef était un juge de Master chef!

  • Où sortir?

La rue des bars ici c’est Chapel street et notamment le revolver! Sinon il y a pas mal de petits bars avec rooftop un peu partout dans la ville. J’étais allée à Union electric bar, très sympa mais malheureusement pas de vue… Un autre quartier sympa également c’est Fitzroy, plutôt babacool. Vous pouvez aussi prendre un verre en bord de rivière, attention c’est assez prisé l’été!

Si vous aimez la salsa il y a des soirées salsa organisées au Ms Collins. Pour les fans de rock c’est le Heartbreaker ou cherry bar qui méritent d’y faire un petit tour.

  • Les activités

  • Street art

A Melbourne vous pouvez bien sûr faire un tour des rues spéciales street art comme AC/DC lane. A savoir qu’il n’y en a pas que dans le CBD, vous en trouverez aussi à St Kilda, Fitzroy, Collingwood pour ne citer qu’eux.

Ce diaporama nécessite JavaScript.

  • Musée

Il y a plusieurs musées gratuits à Melbourne. Je suis allée visiter le musée ACMI basée sur l’image. Vous y trouverez notamment une simulation d’effets spéciaux à la Matrix. Lors de ma visite il y avait aussi le film « 24h », le concept est de prendre des images de films de tous les pays en heure réelle. Par ex s’il est 14h03 à Melbourne vous aurez des images de films où il est 14h03. Idem pour 14h04, 14h05, etc sur 24h. Il y a quelques films français dans le lot c’était très sympa de le découvrir.

  • Plages

La plus proche de la ville est celle de St Kilda. Le soir vous pouvez y voir les petits manchots bleus (restez pas trop près pour leur bien être). C’est là où se trouve aussi le parc d’attraction Luna Park.

Mais la plage la plus célèbre de Melbourne c’est Brighton! En effet c’est sur cette plage que ce trouve les fameuses cabanes de plages. Et le coucher de soleil est aussi superbe!

Ce diaporama nécessite JavaScript.

  • Shopping

Côté shopping je vous conseille vivement le DFO. Il y en a dans chaque ville australienne, il s’agit d’un centre commercial d’outlet. Celui de Melbourne est assez grand et vous trouverez un peu de tout. N’hésitez pas à vous arrêter chez Lindt prendre un chocolat chaud, ils sont divins!

  • Péninsule

Si vous avez un véhicule n’hésitez pas à faire un petit tour sur la péninsule. L’été c’est le rendez-vous de tout les melbourniens. Je n’y suis allée que très rapidement. Mornington a l’air très sympa comme petite ville! J’ai aussi fait une petite rando pour aller à Bushrangers bay. Il y a des sortes de petites piscines naturelles. Lorsque j’y suis allée beaucoup de vent donc je ne suis pas allée très loin. C’est en revenant à ma voiture que j’ai vu mes premiers kangourous dans la nature  😎 .

Vous aimerez aussi peut être

Pas de commentaire

Laisser un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Mentions légales/Legal


Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


%d blogueurs aiment cette page :