3d in Jervis Bay – New South Wales

2 August 2019

After my short stay in Sydney I wanted to bask in the sun on the beautiful beaches of Jervis Bay!

  • Access from Sydney and accommodation

Concretely, even if there are buses that go nearby, it’s still not easy to get there by public transport. So I decided to rent a car (via Budget) from Sydney. Jervis Bay is about 2.5 hours from Sydney, I opted for the toll-free GPS option. I don’t know exactly if there are tolls on this highway but not being very comfortable with their toll system I preferred to not! Moreover with a car I could stop at some additional spots.

You should know that it’s a popular spot during the Australian vacation, it’s very expensive! I opted to buy a tent (which I will reuse later) and looked for a campsite nearby. Again it’s not easy, not that much place in the national parks! And even outside it’s not very cheap. $ 50 a night in Bilberry (Bomaderry). This is not a real campsite, they get autorization for a few spots only and I got a discount to agree to share the bathroom with other campers :). But the owners are lovely and you can do your laundry for free as well.

  • Kangaroo valley

The passes of the national parks being only for 48h I decided to visit Kangaroo valley the first afternoon. The place is really nice, it seems that you can see wombats at the end of the day at the free camp. I just went to the Hampden bridge where you can swim and even rent a kayak. The suspension bridge itself is really beautiful.

  • National parks at Jervis Bay

  • Jervis Bay National Park

It’s the most popular park including Hyams beach. In fact this park there I didn’t go… Yes because access to Hyams beach was closed (too full) so I continued my way to the next park!

  • Booderee National Park

Arriving at this park ($ 13 for 48h), I found that there was no access (even on foot) to Hyams beach. I went to the visitor center and they explained that the beaches of their park are just as beautiful. In reality a few years ago a lot of ad was made for Hyams beach, which explains the craze for this beach. At the expense of local people who have been “invaded” by tourists. It must be said that here are very small villages. And indeed, all over the bay, the beaches have white sand and turquoise water!

I started with Green patch. The facilities for a picnic are really good here. By cons it is the nearest beach so the most crowded…

Then I went to Muray’s beach, my favorite! It’s the most remote beach so less people 🙂 and just as beautiful!

The next day I went to Steamers beach. This beach is very standing apart, you have to walk about 45 minutes (and step for the way back). But it’s worth it !! I don’t know if it was because of the storm that was coming or the effort to go but we were max 10 at the same time!

  • Kiama

When I got back from Jervis Bay, I stopped in Kiama. There is a “blowhole” which is actually a hole in the rock. So when the sea is agitated the water goes up via this cavity and gives an impression of geyser.

You Might Also Like

1 Comment

  • Reply Stop à Canberra - ACT - Travel and run Sunday September 8th, 2019 at 04:20 PM

    […] ma petite escapade à Jervis bay, j’ai passé quelques jours à Canberra avant de rejoindre Melbourne. J’ai pris le bus […]

  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Mentions légales/Legal


    Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

    Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


    %d bloggers like this:

3j à Jervis bay – New South Wales

2 août 2019

Après mon petit séjour à Sydney j’ai eu envie d’aller me prélasser sur les magnifiques plages de Jervis bay!

  • Accès depuis Sydney et logement

Concrètement, même s’il y a des bus qui vont à proximité ce n’est quand même pas simple d’y aller en transport en commun. J’ai donc décidé de louer une voiture (via Budget) depuis Sydney. Jervis bay est à environ 2h30 de Sydney, j’ai opté pour l’option sans péage du GPS. Je ne sais pas exactement s’il y a des péages sur ce tronçon mais n’étant pas très à l’aise avec leur système de péage j’ai préféré m’abstenir! De plus avec une voiture j’ai pu m’arrêter à quelques spots supplémentaires.

Il faut savoir que c’est un coin très prisé lors des vacances des australiens, cela coûte très cher! J’ai opté pour l’achat d’une tente (que je réutiliserai par la suite) et cherché un camping aux alentours. Là encore c’est pas simple, peu de place dans les parcs nationaux! Et même en dehors c’est pas très cheap. 50$ la nuit à Bilberry (à Bomaderry). Ce n’est pas un vrai camping, il n’a l’autorisation que pour quelques spots et j’ai eu une réduc pour accepter de partager la salle de bain avec d’autres campeurs :). Mais les proprios sont charmants et on peut y faire sa lessive gratuitement également.

  • Kangaroo valley

Les pass des parcs nationaux n’étant que pour 48h j’ai décidé d’aller visiter Kangaroo valley la première après-midi. L’endroit est vraiment sympa, il paraît que vous pouvez voir des wombats en fin de journée au free camp. Pour ma part je suis allée au pied du Hampden bridge où vous pouvez vous baigner et même louer un kayak. Le pont suspendu en lui même est vraiment beau.

  • Les parcs nationaux de Jervis Bay

  • Jervis Bay National Park

C’est le parc le plus prisé et notamment Hyams beach. En fait ce parc là je n’y suis pas allée… Oui car l’accès à Hyams beach était fermé (trop plein) donc j’ai continué ma route jusqu’au parc suivant!

  • Booderee National Park

En arrivant à ce parc (frais de 13$ pour 48h), j’ai constaté qu’il n’y avait pas d’accès possible (même à pied) à Hyams beach. Je suis allée au visitor center et ils m’ont expliqué que les plages de leur parc sont toute aussi belles. En réalité quelques années auparavant beaucoup de pub a été faites pour Hyams beach, ce qui explique l’engouement pour cette plage. Au détriment des habitants locaux qui se sont vu « envahir » par les touristes. Il faut dire qu’ici ce sont de tous petits villages. Et en effet, dans toute la baie, les plages ont le sable blanc et l’eau turquoise!

J’ai commencé par Green patch. Les équipements pour un pique-nique sont vraiment très bien ici. Par contre c’est la plage la plus près donc la plus bondée…

Ensuite je suis allée à Muray’s beach, mon coup de coeur! C’est la plage la plus éloignée donc moins de monde 🙂 et tout aussi belle!

Le lendemain je me suis rendue à Steamers beach. Cette plage est très escarpé, il faut marcher environ 45 minutes (avec du dénivelé au retour). Mais cela en vaut la peine!! Je sais pas si c’est à cause de l’orage qui s’annonçait ou l’effort à faire pour y aller mais on était au max 10 en même temps!

  • Kiama

Au retour de Jervis Bay, je me suis arrêtée à Kiama. Il y a un « blowhole » qui est en réalité un trou dans la roche. Ainsi lorsque la mer est agitée l’eau remonte via cette cavité et donne une impression de geyser.

Vous aimerez aussi peut être

Commentaire

  • Reply Stop à Canberra - ACT - Travel and run dimanche 8 septembre 2019 at 16:20

    […] ma petite escapade à Jervis bay, j’ai passé quelques jours à Canberra avant de rejoindre Melbourne. J’ai pris le bus […]

  • Laisser un commentaire

    Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

    Mentions légales/Legal


    Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

    Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


    %d blogueurs aiment cette page :