Catlins – For animal lovers

9 December 2018

After leaving Wanaka I drove first to Invercargill and then to the Catlins!

  • From Invercargill to Curio bay

  • Bluff

The only detour that seemed interesting before the Catlins at Invercargill is Bluff to take the mythical picture of the signals. This is the end of Route 1 which starts at Cape Reinga. Apart from that, not much tourist interest in the area (and especially when the weather is not good …).

  • Waipapa ligthouse

First stop in the Catlins to meet some sea lions! Some play in the water (while we wait in the rain ☂). But none come on the beach to be admired.

  • Slope point

This is the southernmost point of the South Island (and no it’s not Bluff!). I was there in the rain and apart from the picture of the panel there is really nothing to do! Maybe the view is better under the sun 🤔.

  • Curio bay

If you’re lucky, here in the Catlins you’ll be able to swim for free with Hector’s dolphins! The rule is: put yourself in the water staying away. They are the ones who must come to you if they want to, and not you who have to approach them. In theory here you can also see yellow-eyed penguins. The problem is that access to the beach is possible for humans and therefore, as they’re shy, they dare to come less. To know that unlike blue penguins they do not wait for the night to get out of the water! Rather around 17h in November. In short, the long hours in the cold will not have been rewarded this time 😥.

  • Papatowai

One of my colleagues kindly lent me her country house in Papatowai. And it was perfect because there is no free camp in the area and the weather was not really at the top of the top…

  • McLean falls

After a few minutes walk you can admire this waterfall! With the rain of the last days she was really full of water and does not necessarily look like postcards that can be found!

  • Paua

It’s by doing the “Kings Rock Track” that I found full of paua! The classics but also the golden! The walk was a little mudy but it was worth it 😉.

  • Purakaunui falls

A short walk will take you to this beautiful waterfall! This one is really beautiful and perfect for beautiful photos 😊.

  • Sea lions and penguins

  • Sea lions

I could see very closely sea lions (a couple each time but not very close to each other). At first in Surrat Bay (it took a lot of walking on the beach to get to them). Then at Cannibal bay! The first couple was just sleeping in the sun 😅. While the second was well awake and even doing their show for their audience 😉.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Yellow eyed penguins

The first time I had the chance to see one was at Roaring Bay! It took me more than 1h30 waiting (folded in half) to see him out of the water. At first I wondered what was in the water and then I was able to announce to all the observers around me “there is 1!” He was alone, right in front of the observation cabin (but still a bit far from us). He took his time to go hide for our greatest pleasure 😍. My back could no longer I did not wait to see others. And then my colleague was waiting for me for dinner at Dunedin.

  • Nuggets point

Just before it was time to go see the penguins I wandered to the Nugget point lighthouse. The view is really superb!!

You Might Also Like

1 Comment

  • Reply Cj-envadrouille Monday December 10th, 2018 at 01:23 PM

    Quelle belle promenade en compagnie des lions de mer et la baignade avec les dauphins doit être magique . Merci pour ce partage qui fait rêver !

  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Mentions légales/Legal


    Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

    Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


    %d bloggers like this:

Les Catlins – Pour les fans des animaux

9 décembre 2018

Après avoir quitter Wanaka j’ai roulé dans un premier temps jusqu’à Invercargill pour ensuite me diriger vers les Catlins!

  • D’Invercargill à Curio bay

  • Bluff

Le seul détour qui m’a paru intéressant à Invercargill et avant les Catlins c’est Bluff pour prendre la mythique photo de la signalisation. Il s’agit de la fin de la route 1 qui débute à Cape Reinga. En dehors de cela, pas beaucoup d’intérêt touristique dans le coin (et surtout quand il ne fait pas beau…).

  • Waipapa ligthouse

Premier stop dans les Catlins afin de rencontrer quelques lions de mer! Quelques uns jouent dans l’eau (pendant qu’on patiente sous la pluie ☂). Mais aucun ne viendra sur la plage se faire admirer.

  • Slope point

C’est le point le plus au Sud de l’île du Sud (et non ce n’est pas Bluff!). J’y étais sous la pluie et à part la photo du panneau il n’y a vraiment rien à faire! Peut-être la vue est-elle meilleure sous le soleil 🤔.

  • Curio bay

Si vous avez de la chance, vous pourrez ici, dans les Catlins, nager gratuitement avec des dauphins Hector! La règle est : mettez vous à l’eau en restant éloigné. Ce sont eux qui doivent venir vers vous s’ils en ont envie et non pas vous qui devez à tout prix vous approcher d’eux. En théorie ici vous pouvez aussi voir des manchots aux yeux jaunes. Le problème est que l’accès à la plage est possible pour les humains et que donc, timides, ils osent moins venir. A savoir que contrairement aux manchots bleus ils n’attendent pas la tombée de la nuit pour sortir de l’eau! Plutôt vers 17h en novembre. Bref les longues heures dans le froid n’auront pas été récompensées cette fois ci 😥.

  • Papatowai

Une de mes collègues m’a gentiment prêtée sa maison de campagne à Papatowai. Et ça tombait à pic car il n’y a pas de free camp dans le coin et que la météo n’était pas vraiment au top du top…

  • McLean falls

Après quelques minutes de marche vous pourrez admirer cette cascade! Avec la pluie des derniers jours elle était vraiment gorgée d’eau et ne ressemble pas forcément aux cartes postales qu’on peut trouver!

  • Paua

C’est en faisant la marche « Kings rock track » que j’ai trouvé pleins de paua! Les classiques mais aussi les dorés! La marche était un peu gadouilleuse mais ça en valait la peine 😉.

  • Purakaunui falls

Une petite marche vous amènera vers cette superbe cascade! Celle-ci est vraiment superbe et parfaite pour les belles photos 😊.

  • Lions de mers et manchots

  • Lions de mer

J’ai pu voir de très près des lions de mer (un couple à chaque fois mais pas hyper proche l’un de l’autre). Dans un premier temps à Surrat bay (il a fallu marcher pas mal sur la plage pour arriver à eux). Puis à Cannibal bay! Le premier couple ne faisait que dormir au soleil 😅. Tandis que le deuxième était bien éveillé et faisait même leur show pour leur public 😉.

Ce diaporama nécessite JavaScript.

  • Manchots aux yeux jaunes

La première fois que j’ai eu la chance d’en voir un c’était à Roaring bay! Il m’a fallu plus d’1h30 d’attente (pliée en deux) pour le voir sortir de l’eau. Au début je me demandais ce qui était dans l’eau et puis j’ai pu annoncer à tous les observateurs autour de moi « y’en a 1! ». Il était tout seul, pile en face de la cabane d’observation (mais quand même un peu loin de nous). Il a bien pris son temps pour aller se cacher pour notre plus grand plaisir 😍. Mon dos n’en pouvant plus je n’ai pas attendu d’en voir d’autres. Et puis ma collègue m’attendait pour le dîner à Dunedin.

  • Nuggets point

Juste avant qu’il soit l’heure d’aller voir les manchots je me suis baladée au phare de Nugget point. La vue est vraiment superbe!!

Vous aimerez aussi peut être

Commentaire

  • Reply Cj-envadrouille lundi 10 décembre 2018 at 13:23

    Quelle belle promenade en compagnie des lions de mer et la baignade avec les dauphins doit être magique . Merci pour ce partage qui fait rêver !

  • Laisser un commentaire

    Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

    Mentions légales/Legal


    Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

    Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


    %d blogueurs aiment cette page :