Queenstown – Wanaka

4 December 2018

Arriving from the West Coast, Queenstown was the first stop. Maybe not the most logical order but my travelmate had planned a couchsurfing in Queenstown immediately. The walks around Wanaka were therefore done in a second time. I didn’t pass that much time in Queestown as I already visit it in april.

  • Glenorchy

The first day we went for a walk in Glenorchy. Knowing that the sky was quite cloudy but no rain! On the road you will see signs indicating that you must pay attention to sheep, be careful! Indeed I was close to knocked over one, a sheep first and then her lamb who crossed at the last moment to join! Fortunately he stopped in time when he saw that he was not going to cross before me…

  • Moke lake

The second day was spent on a walk around Moke Lake. It’s located between Queenstown and Glenorchy. Again on a good part of the gravel road you will find sheep roaming freely, drive slowly 😉.

The walk around the lake is quite easy, then you can have different points of view!

  • Nevis swing

It’s about to do a 300m swing with 70m of free fall at the beginning. For the record, I’m not a big fan at the origin of this type of activity! It’s not completely the emptiness that is problematic but rather controlling nothing. I wanted with this activity to exceed my limits! It’s quite expensive ($ 220) but I’m very happy to have done! It takes about 4 hours for this activity because it’s not in Queenstown itself. I filmed everything with my GoPro, I’ll let you have a look (sorry I speak in French) :

  • Isthmus Peak

At this time of year Roy’s Peak was closed (lambing) so we hiked Ishtmus Peak! Throughout the climb you have views of Hawea Lake as well as the snowy mountains. And at the top you will have the view of both lakes (Hawae and Wanaka). It’s really a great hike to do. By cons at the top it was very cold and windy! Less famous than Roy’s Peak is yet a very beautiful hike! And a little less waiting for the pictures at the top ahah!

  • Wanaka tree

Of course impossible to go through Wanaka without going to see his famous tree immersed in the lake! With snowy mountains at this time (late October) it was really beautiful!

You Might Also Like

1 Comment

  • Reply Les Catlins - Pour les fans des animaux - Travel and run Sunday December 9th, 2018 at 11:37 AM

    […] avoir quitter Wanaka j’ai roulé dans un premier temps jusqu’à Invercargill pour ensuite me diriger vers […]

  • Leave a Reply

    Mentions légales/Legal


    Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

    Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


    %d bloggers like this:

Queenstown – Wanaka

4 décembre 2018

En arrivant depuis la West Coast, Queenstown fut le premier stop. Peut-être pas l’ordre le plus logique mais ma travelmate avait prévu un couchsurfing à Queenstown immédiatement. Les balades autour de Wanaka se sont donc faites dans un deuxième temps. Je n’ai pas passé beaucoup de temps dans Queenstown, j’y étais déjà allée en avril

  • Glenorchy

Le premier jour nous sommes allée nous balader à Glenorchy. Sachant que le ciel était assez couvert mais pas de pluie! Sur la route vous verrez des panneaux indiquant qu’il faut faire attention aux moutons, soyez prudent! En effet j’ai évité de peu d’en renverser, une brebis tout d’abord puis son agneau qui a traversé au dernier moment pour la rejoindre! Heureusement il s’est arrêté à temps en voyant qu’il n’allait pas réussir à traverser avant moi…

  • Moke lake

Le deuxième jour a été consacré à une balade autour de Moke lake. Il se situe entre Queenstown et Glenorchy. Là encore sur une bonne partie de la gravel road vous trouverez des moutons en liberté, roulez doucement 😉.

La balade autour du lac est assez facile, vous pourrez ainsi avoir différents points de vue!

  • Nevis swing

Il s’agit de faire de la balançoire sur 300m avec 70m de chute libre au début. Pour la petite histoire je ne suis pas une grande fan à l’origine de ce type d’activité! Ce n’est pas complètement le vide qui me pose problème mais plutôt le fait de ne rien contrôler. J’ai voulu avec cette activité dépasser mes limites! C’est assez cher ($220) mais je suis très contente de l’avoir fait! Il faut compter une disponibilité d’environ 4h pour cette activité car ce n’est pas à Queenstown même. J’ai tout filmé avec ma GoPro, je vous laisse jeter un oeil :

  • Isthmus Peak

A cette période de l’année Roy’s Peak était fermé (agnelage) nous avons donc fait la randonnée d’Ishtmus Peak! Pendant toute la montée vous avez vue sur le lac d’Hawea ainsi que sur les montagnes enneigées. Et au sommet vous aurez la vue sur les deux lacs (Hawae et Wanaka). C’est vraiment une super rando à faire. Par contre au sommet il faisait très froid et beaucoup de vent! Moins célèbre que Roy’s Peak c’est pourtant une très belle rando! Et un peu moins d’attente pour les photos au sommet ahah!

  • Wanaka tree

Bien sûr impossible de passer par Wanaka sans aller voir son célèbre arbre immergé dans le lac! Avec en plus les montagnes enneigées à cette période (fin octobre) c’était vraiment magnifique!

Vous aimerez aussi peut être

Pas de commentaire

Laisser un commentaire

Mentions légales/Legal


Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


%d blogueurs aiment cette page :