Marathon of Sydney 2018

21 September 2018

After my failed attempt in Lyon in 2017 I didn’t want to stay on a failure, so I decided to register for the Sydney Marathon!

  • Before the marathon

  • Inscription and trip

I entered on February 19th, the day after my first semi marathon of the year at Wellington! The official website is quite complete.There are three SAS, less than 3:45; less than 4h30 and more than 4h30. Knowing we have max 6 hours to finish the race (and that there are cut-off points in several places of the race, I will come back to this point). Having an address in New Zealand, I took advantage of their cheaper rate 😉. I booked a plane with checked baggage (which I rarely do) to be able to bring anything that could potentially serve me and not be restricted. Only for a weekend, arriving on Friday to have time to acclimatize in case and return on Monday. I also booked in an hostel in a dormitory of 4 (not the ideal but more in my budget). I could also walk a little in Sydney!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

  • Training

As usual I planned my training with Frequence Running. I started my dedicated training plan to this race mid-June (so 3 months before) knowing that I had chained a few races before. To be honest, I think I followed a little less than half of the plan 🙄. Not because of them but me! I think I didn’t think I was able to do it and I did not believe enough in my training (+ a little winter blues).

Already having some results entered in the application it proposed me a goal of 5h31’30. And with my training at the end it planned the race in 5h38’42 so 8’02 / km. But in reality my goal was just to cross the finish line so I didn’t really consider those times.

I did not run two days before the race simply because it was very hot in Sydney and I knew it wasn’t going to be representative of the conditions of the race. I was afraid it would be hard and was a blow for my mind!

  • Equipement

In New Zealand I only took one pair of my Saucony Hurricane Iso 2 sneakers. They were the ones who accompanied me during my training and during my intermediate races (10km at Rotorua in early August and 10km at Nouméa in end of August).

I did not bring a camelbak so I bought one here. It’s better than the one I had in France by cons I haven’t yet managed to eliminate the taste of plastic 😑. This is the Octane Dart Hydration model. It has several pockets, some accessible in belt. You can even put away a thin jacket. In short it’s perfect for my needs!

I also have Skins’ compression stockings to protect my shins, although I don’t have any particular pain at this place usually!

  • Cryotherapy

Not having the opportunity to cryotherapy in New Zealand I could only do one session the day before the race (2′). It’s rather advisable to do several on one / two week (s) before. I can’t say if it had an effect because I have no point of comparison😉. Anyway, I didn’t feel any difference before / after. In general they say that we sleep well the next night but as before every “important” day I have a lot of trouble sleeping I haven’t seen this beneficial effect. And yes I went running a marathon having slept at most 4 hours (and not at once) during the night…

  • Foot care

I read only 15 days before it was advisable to spread your feet morning and evening with anti-chafing cream. Not having all the brands available I chose a product from New Zealand Gurney Goo. And indeed it has made its effect! One blister (probably not enough cream on this spot) and none related to my orthosis when I usually have after 1h of race.

  • Nutrition

I’m really not an expert on this, so unfortunately I can not give you really specific advice. The day before I went to eat starchy foods. And the morning of the race as I was in hostel I did not have much choice of breakfast. I only eat a chocolate and protein drink and a CLIF energy bar. It was clearly not enough!

  • D Day

  • The content of my camelbak

For this marathon, my camelbak contained: 1.5L of water; 4 GU gels; 2 energy bars; kleenex; tiger balm. I have used everything !! I missed a lip balm because after a while my lips were dry (probably dehydration) and it was not great.

  • Arrival at the place

All participants had free transportation all day in the city! So I took a direct train to get to the departure point on the other side of Harbour Bridge. It was very cold (with wind) this morning, my tine jacket was a bit light 😑. But I preferred it to the 30° of the day before! I did not forget the important pee break and I joined my departure SAS after a few minutes of jogging.

Another point that I really appreciated, they provide pacer until 6h! I am not especially a pacer follower but psychologically I find it hard in other races not to be entitled to pacers because we are “too slow”.

  • The start

The start of this race is really mythical! That’s when we run on the Sydney Harbour Bridge, overlooking the Opera House! Everyone stops quietly to make some souvenir photos 😊. I immediately removed my jacket (and put in my camelbak).

  • AID stops

I have already talked about that but in Oceania, there is nothing to eat at the AID stations! Just water, isotonic water (but depending of the marks I can’t drink them). After the first half there were GU gels but when you arrive last like me, there is no more! They also provide toilets (with paper) to all the stations (I think France is overwhelmed for that!). There were stations every 2-3 km which is really good! A medical team was also present at most stops.

I took a glass of water at ALL AID stations, even though I had water with me. I then alternated gel, energy bar and just water. My digestive system is quite sensitive I took only half a energy bar at a time so that it does not disturb too much.

  • The course map

Passing by the botanical garden, the route brings us to the Moore Park. On the way I saw the first and especially I could see that I was not so far away from the pacer 5h30. And that there were still a lot of people behind me! Leaving the park I saw the last (which I think was forced to stop later), I was about 3km ahead of her.

Returning near Harbour bridge I saw the marathoners sub 4h who were at 40km while I was at 27 … But especially around a little after the 30 km I saw this majestic bridge, very far!! It’s a little demoralizing to think that there is still a lot of distance before returning near the finish line..

At km 35, I am almost stopped by a “cut-off” of the race to reopen traffic to cars. And yet, 6h pacers were behind me (time limit officially to finish the race). I decided not to listen to it and continue! As not all the cut-offs were on the event website, I did not know if there was going to be a new one. And I knew that I had a few hundred meters running down the road again around km 40. So I “accelerated” (and significantly reduced walking) to be sure to be allowed to finish. This part of the course is easy because flat but the landscape does not vary much so the feeling is quite long!

And finally I saw the opera in front of me and I finished my first marathon in 5h57’29. In the end, all the participants behind me were allowed to finish the race, without dealing with the cut-off. The last ones finally put around 6:20 to arrive.

  • My race management

I really wanted to avoid stressing myself for this race! It may sound “silly” but I just put one foot in front of the other (ok for 6h). I had my watch with me so I knew how long I had put, how many km I had ran and how much I had left. Well yes and no because I finally ran 43.1km. By cons I had absolutely no idea of ​​the time that I had to go or if I was very early or not on the much talked about 6h. And I had absolutely no idea of ​​the time under which I had to pass km 21, 30, 35!

I put my phone in airplane mode as well (I just had music). I did not want to be bothered by the notifications or be tempted to go watch the internet or anything else. The only thing I did was send a message to my cousin (who was with me in Lyon) at km 30 to tell him that I had already done better than last time and that I continue! Well it may be a little around this famous km 30 that I slightly switched off until km 35 because I just said myself “there it is on I have the ability to go to the end!”.

  • My feeling

Because of my desire not to stress me I had a pretty good race! After the first half I had a moment where I walked a little more. I concentrated on my music, “played” the drums by tapping my thighs in rhythm. Well the problem is that I forgot a little breathing enough😅. And when I ran an entire km I saw with my watch that my legs were still there (eg I did a 6’49/km at km 24 and a 6’59/km at km 37!). So it’s very encouraging for the next one 😉.

On the second part of the course we were only a few to be “behind” so we double and are doubled by the same people all the time. But it’s nice to see someone who outdistance you a few minutes earlier! What is a little hard to handle when you are slow is to see that the volunteers “clean” because the race ends. And that there’s almost nothing to the AID stations. By cons they continued to encourage participants and that was great! Another black spot, see the sub 6h pacers who were not so far behind me…

I didn’t have a “wall” during the marathon, I guess because I don’t run fast enough and thoroughly! The fact that I managed to resume and run well over the last 7 km is very encouraging for the future because physically I was still there! Certainly I was tired so my cardio didn’t like it, but I think I could handle the next one much better!

  • My result in detail

Km Time Speed
5 37’19 7’27
10 39’49 7’57
15 38’44 7’44
20 44’49 8’57
25 42’45 8’33
30 50’08 10’01
35 46’59 9’23
40 39’12 7’50
42,2 17’39 8’01
  • Return to calm

After the race I settled down on a terrace under the sun eating a pizza (not a lot of cheap choice near the opera …) and especially drink a cold drink! Returning to the hostel I already had legs quite painful. I took a good shower and put on my compression stockings (which I removed just before going to sleep).

I didn’t have a very good night between the pain, the heat released by my legs (activated to repair all my muscle fibers).

  • And then?

  • D+1

The next morning I had planned another cryotherapy session before taking my flight home. My legs were heavy, painful and tense. I did a session of 2’30 this time. There too I didn’t feel a big change between before / after but it probably contributed to my recovery anyway. The same evening I had my drumming class, even if my legs tired themselves a little faster, no particular pain for this activity 😏.

  • D+2

And back to work … I usually go to work on foot but I preferred to drive! No big pain while walking but a feeling of wooden leg (and I was quite slow). On the other hand slight body aches to climb the stairs. And stiffer aches to go down the stairs and sit / get up. I took the lift exceptionally! In the evening I had an appointment for a session of “float therapy”, an hour in a saltwater bath.

  • D+3

Almost no more aches, light down the stairs and sitting down only! I had an appointment with an osteopath because I know that I have pelvic (and back) problems. So I knew I was going to need everything back in place after this big effort! By cons I have not yet fully recovered from the fatigue of the race and the lack of sleep before / after associated.

  • D+4

Perfect, everything is back in order! No more pain 😊. Know that in this case you can do a “cardio” activity but short and smooth (cycling on flat, swimming for example).

  • And then?

I will be on the road and travel for the next few months. For the moment no race planned (but I can change my mind at the last minute, depending on the occasion). And especially I expect a break running because lately I do not always run for fun and I would like to find a little more fun to run. But I keep my sneakers in my backpack we never know it can come back soon enough 😏.

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Mentions légales/Legal


Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


%d bloggers like this:

Marathon de Sydney 2018

21 septembre 2018

Après ma tentative ratée à Lyon en 2017 je ne voulais pas rester sur un échec. J’ai donc décidé de m’inscrire au marathon de Sydney!

  • Avant le marathon

  • Inscription et voyage

Je me suis inscrite le 19 février, soit le lendemain de mon premier semi marathon de l’année à Wellington! Le site officiel est assez complet. Il y a trois groupes de départ, moins de 3h45 ; moins de 4h30 et plus de 4h30. Sachant qu’on a max 6h pour finir la course (et qu’il y a des cut-off points à plusieurs endroits de la course, j’y reviendrai). Ayant une adresse en Nouvelle Zélande, j’ai profité de leur tarif plus avantageux 😉. J’ai réservé un avion avec bagage en soute (ce que je fais rarement) pour pouvoir amener tout ce qui pourrait potentiellement me servir et ne pas être restreinte. Uniquement pour un week-end, arrivée le vendredi pour avoir le temps de m’acclimater au cas où et retour le lundi. J’ai réservé aussi dans une auberge dans un dortoir de 4 (pas l’idéal mais mon budget me suivait plus). J’ai pu aussi me balader un peu dans Sydney!

Ce diaporama nécessite JavaScript.

  • Entrainement

Comme d’habitude j’ai planifié mes entrainements avec Frequence Running. J’ai commencé mon planning dédié à cette course mi-juin (donc 3 mois avant) sachant que j’avais enchaîné quelques courses avant. Pour tout vous dire je crois que j’ai suivi un peu moins de la moitié du planning 🙄. Pas à cause d’eux mais de moi! Je crois que je ne m’en croyais pas capable et j’ai donc pas assez cru à mon entrainement (+ un petit blues hivernal).

Ayant déjà quelques résultats entrés dans l’application celle-ci me proposait un objectif de 5h31’30. Et avec mon entrainement à la fin elle prévoyait la course en 5h38’42 soit du 8’02/km. Mais en réalité mon objectif était juste de franchir la ligne d’arrivée donc je n’ai pas trop tenu compte de ces temps.

Je n’ai pas couru deux jours avant la course tout simplement car il faisait très chaud à Sydney et je savais que cela n’allait pas être représentatif des conditions de la course. J’avais peur que ce soit dur et que mon moral en prenne un coup!

  • Equipement

En Nouvelle Zélande je n’ai pris qu’une seule paire de baskets mes Saucony Hurricane Iso 2. Ce sont donc elles qui m’ont accompagné lors de mes entrainements et lors de mes courses intermédiaires (10km à Rotorua début août et 10km à Nouméa fin Août).

Je n’avais pas amené de camelbak donc j’en ai racheté un sur place. Il est mieux que celui que j’avais en France par contre je n’ai pas encore réussi à éliminer le gout de plastique 😑. C’est le modèle Octane Dart Hydratation. Il a plusieurs poches, certaines accessibles en ceinture. On peut même y ranger une veste fine. Bref il est parfait pour mes besoins!

J’ai aussi des bas de compression Skins pour protéger mes tibias, même si je n’ai pas de douleur particulière à cet endroit en temps normal!

PS : J’avais fait un article sur mon choix de baskets si ca vous intéresse d’en savoir plus.

  • Cryothérapie

N’ayant pas la possibilité de faire de la cryothérapie en Nouvelle Zélande je n’ai pu faire qu’une séance la veille de la course (de 2′). Il est plutôt conseillé d’en faire plusieurs sur une/deux semaine(s) avant. Je ne saurais dire si cela a eu un effet car je n’ai pas de point de comparaison 😉. En tout cas je n’ai pas senti spécialement de différence avant/après. En général ils disent qu’on dort bien la nuit suivant mais comme avant chaque jour « important » j’ai beaucoup de mal à dormir je n’ai pas vu cet effet bénéfique. Et oui je suis allée courir un marathon en ayant dormi tout au plus 4h (et pas en une fois) durant la nuit…

  • Soin des pieds

J’ai lu seulement 15 jours avant qu’il était conseillé de se tartiner les pieds matin et soir de crème anti frottements. N’ayant pas toutes les marques à disposition j’ai choisi un produit néo-zélandais Gurney Goo. Et effectivement ça a bien fait son effet! Une seule ampoule (probablement pas assez mis de crème à cet endroit) et aucune liée à mon orthèse alors que j’en ai habituellement dès 1h de course.

  • Nutrition

Je suis vraiment pas experte sur ce point, donc malheureusement je ne peux pas vous donner des conseils vraiment précis. La veille je suis allée manger des féculents. Et le matin de la course comme j’étais en auberge je n’avais pas beaucoup de choix de petit déjeuner. J’ai mangé uniquement une boisson chocolatée et protéinée ainsi qu’une barre énergétique CLIF. C’était clairement pas assez!

  • Jour J

  • Le contenu de mon camelbak

Pour ce marathon, mon camelbak contenait : 1,5L d’eau ; 4 gels GU ; 2 barres énergétiques ; des kleenex ; du baume du tigre. J’ai tout utilisé!! Il m’a manqué un baume à lèvre car au bout d’un moment mes lèvres étaient sèches (probablement de déshydratation) et ce n’était pas agréable.

  • Arrivée sur les lieux

Tous les participants avaient les transports gratuits toute la journée dans la ville! J’ai donc pris un train direct pour arriver sur les lieux du départ, de l’autre côté de l’Harbour Bridge. Il faisait très froid (avec du vent) ce matin, ma petite veste était un peu légère 😑. Mais je préférais ça aux 30° de la veille! Je n’ai pas oublié la pause pipi importante et j’ai rejoint mon SAS de départ après quelques minutes de footing.

Autre point que j’ai vraiment apprécié, ils prévoient des paceurs jusqu’à 6h! Je ne suis pas spécialement une adepte mais psychologiquement je trouve ça dure dans les autres courses de ne pas avoir droit à des paceurs parce qu’on est « trop lent ».

  • Le départ

Le départ de cette course est vraiment mythique! C’est à ce moment-là que l’on court sur l’Harbour Bridge de Sydney, avec vue sur l’Opéra! Chacun s’arrête tranquillement faire quelques photos souvenirs 😊. J’ai tout de suite enlevée ma veste (et mise dans mon camelbak).

  • Les ravitaillements

Je l’ai déjà abordé mais en Océanie, il n’y a rien à manger aux ravitaillements! Juste de l’eau, de l’eau isotonique (mais suivant les marques je n’arrive pas à les boire). Après le premier semi il y avait des gels GU mais quand on arrive en dernier comme moi, il n’y en a plus! Ils prévoient aussi des toilettes (avec papier) à tous les ravitaillements (je trouve que la France est à la ramasse pour ça!). Il y avait des ravitaillements tous les 2-3 km environ ce qui est vraiment bien! Une équipe médicale était présente également à la plupart des arrêts.

J’ai pris un gobelet d’eau à TOUS les ravitaillements, même si j’avais de l’eau avec moi. J’ai ensuite alterné gel, barre énergétique et juste eau. Mon système digestif étant assez sensible je n’ai pris qu’une demi barre énergétique à la fois pour ne pas que cela ne le perturbe trop.

  • Le parcours

En passant par le jardin botanique, le parcours nous amène jusqu’au Moore Park. A l’aller je croise les premiers et surtout je peux constater que je suis pas si éloignée que ça du paceur 5h30. Et qu’il y a pas mal de monde encore derrière moi! En quittant le parc j’aperçois la dernière (qui je pense a été contrainte d’arrêter plus tard), j’avais environ 3km d’avance sur elle.

En revenant près de l’Harbour bridge je croise les marathoniens du sub 4h qui en sont eux à 40km tandis que j’en suis qu’à 27… Mais surtout autour un peu après le km 30 on aperçoit ce majestueux pont, très loin!! Là c’est un peu démoralisant de se dire qu’il y a encore beaucoup de distance avant de retourner près de l’arrivée.

Au km 35, je suis presque arrêtée par un « cut-off » de la course pour rouvrir la circulation aux voitures. Et pourtant les paceurs 6h étaient derrière moi (temps limite officiellement pour finir la course). J’ai décidé de ne pas l’écouter et de continuer! Tous les cut-off n’étant pas indiqué sur le site web de l’événement je ne savais pas s’il y allait en avoir un nouveau. Et je savais que j’avais quelques centaines de mètres à courir sur la route encore autour du km 40. J’ai donc « accéléré » (et nettement diminuer la marche) pour être sûre d’être autorisée à finir. Cette partie du parcours est facile car plate mais le paysage ne varie pas beaucoup donc le ressenti est assez long!

Et enfin je vois l’opéra devant moi et je finis mon premier marathon en 5h57’29. Au final tous les participants derrière moi ont été autorisé à finir la course, sans s’occuper des cut-off. Les derniers ont finalement mis autour de 6h20 pour arriver.

  • Ma gestion de la course

Je voulais à tout prix éviter de me stresser pour cette course! Ca peut paraître « idiot » mais j’ai juste mis un pied devant l’autre (bon ok pendant 6h). J’avais ma montre avec moi donc je savais combien de temps j’avais mis, combien de km j’avais parcourus et combien il m’en restait. Enfin oui et non car j’ai au final parcouru 43,1km. Par contre je n’avais absolument aucune idée du temps qu’il me restait à parcourir ni si j’étais très en avance ou pas sur les fameux 6h. Et je n’avais absolument aucune idée du temps sous lequel je devais passer le km 21, 30, 35!

J’avais aussi mis mon téléphone en mode avion (j’avais juste la musique). Je ne voulais pas être dérangée par les notifications ni être tentée d’aller regarder internet ou autre chose. La seule chose que j’ai fait c’est envoyer un message à mon cousin (qui était avec moi à Lyon) au km 30 pour lui dire que j’avais déjà fait mieux que la dernière fois et que je continuais! Bon c’est peut être un peu autour de ce fameux km 30 que j’ai légèrement décroché jusqu’au km 35 parce que justement je me disais « là c’est sûr j’ai la capacité d’aller au bout! ».

  • Mon ressenti

Du fait de ma volonté de ne pas me stresser j’ai eu mentalement une assez bonne course! Après le premier semi j’ai eu un passage où j’ai un peu plus marché. Je me concentrais sur ma musique, « jouais » de la batterie en tapotant mes cuisses en rythme. Bon le problème c’est que j’en oubliais un peu de respirer assez 😅. Et lorsque je courais un km entier je voyais avec ma montre que mes jambes étaient toujours là (par ex j’ai fait un 6’49/km au km 24 ou encore un 6’59/km au km 37!). Donc c’est très encourageant pour le prochain 😉.

Sur la deuxième partie du parcours on était que quelques-uns à être « à la traine » donc on double et se fait doubler par les mêmes personnes tout le temps. Mais ça fait plaisir de rattraper quelqu’un qui nous a distancé quelques minutes plus tôt! Ce qui est un peu dur à gérer quand on est lent c’est de voir que les volontaires « rangent » car la course se termine. Et qu’il n’y a quasi plus rien aux ravitaillements. Par contre ils continuaient à encourager les participants et ça c’était top! Autre point noir, voir les paceurs sub 6h qui n’étaient plus si loin derrière moi…

Je n’ai pas eu de « mur » pendant le marathon, j’imagine car je ne cours pas assez vite et à fond! Le fait que j’ai réussi à reprendre et à bien courir sur les 7 derniers km est très encourageant pour la suite car physiquement j’étais toujours là! Certes j’étais fatiguée donc mon cardio n’a pas beaucoup aimé mais je pense que je pourrais beaucoup mieux gérer le prochain!

  • Mon résultat en détail

Km Temps Allure
5 37’19 7’27
10 39’49 7’57
15 38’44 7’44
20 44’49 8’57
25 42’45 8’33
30 50’08 10’01
35 46’59 9’23
40 39’12 7’50
42,2 17’39 8’01
  • Retour au calme

Après la course je me suis posée en terrasse au soleil manger une pizza (pas beaucoup de choix pas cher près de l’opéra…) et surtout boire une boisson bien fraiche! En rentrant à l’auberge j’avais déjà les jambes assez douloureuses. J’ai pris une bonne douche et j’ai remis mes bas de compression (que j’ai enlevé juste avant d’aller dormir uniquement).

Je n’ai pas passé une très bonne nuit entre la douleur, la chaleur dégagée par mes jambes (activées à réparer toutes mes fibres musculaires).

  • Et après?

  • J+1

Le lendemain matin j’avais prévu une autre séance de cryothérapie avant de prendre mon vol retour. J’avais les jambes assez lourdes, douloureuses et crispées. J’ai fait une séance de 2’30 cette fois. Là non plus je n’ai pas ressenti de gros changement entre avant/après mais cela a probablement contribué à ma récupération quand même. Le soir même j’avais mon cours de batterie, même si mes jambes fatiguaient un peu plus vites, pas de douleur particulière pour cette activité 😏.

  • J+2

Et retour au travail… D’habitude je vais travailler à pied mais là j’ai préféré conduire! Pas de grosses douleurs en marchant mais une sensation de jambe de bois (et j’étais assez lente). Par contre légères courbatures pour monter les escaliers. Et courbatures un peu plus fortes pour descendre les escaliers et m’asseoir/me lever. J’ai exceptionnellement pris l’ascenseur! Le soir j’avais pris un rendez-vous pour une session de « float thérapie », une heure dans un bain d’eau salée.

  • J+3

Presque plus de courbatures, de légères en descendant les escaliers et en m’asseyant uniquement! J’avais pris un rendez-vous avec un ostéopathe car je sais que j’ai des problèmes de bassin (et de dos). Du coup je savais que j’allais avoir besoin de tout bien remettre en place après ce gros effort! Par contre je n’ai pas encore complètement récupéré de la fatigue de la course et du peu de sommeil avant/après associé.

  • J+4

Impeccable, tout est rentré dans l’ordre! Plus de douleurs 😊. Sachez que dans ce cas vous pouvez reprendre une activité « cardio » mais courte et en douceur (vélo sur du plat, natation par ex).

  • Et la suite?

Je vais pas mal être sur les routes et voyager pendant les prochains mois. Pour le moment pas de course prévue (mais je peux changer d’avis à la dernière minute, en fonction de l’occasion). Et surtout je me prévois une pause running car ces derniers temps je ne courrais pas toujours par plaisir et je voudrais retrouver un peu plus ce plaisir de courir. Mais je garde mes baskets dans mon backpack on sait jamais ça peut me reprendre assez vite 😏.

Vous aimerez aussi peut être

Pas de commentaire

Laisser un commentaire

Mentions légales/Legal


Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


%d blogueurs aiment cette page :