Wilson promontory park – VIC

10 November 2019

The second stop of my road trip in Victoria (after Raymond Island) was the Wilson Promontory park. I could only stay one day. And unfortunately the weather wasn’t on my side  🙁 .

  • Practical information

You can access Wilson Promontory Park for one day or several days. Be aware that campsites are usually full several days in advance in the national parks or much too expensive. The camps outside are not right next door and it takes a lot of time to get out to sleep. By cons there is a free hot shower at the information center! The entrance to the park is free and you will be given a map of the various activities. Like every park, ride slowly because wildlife is much more present. It’s not uncommon for a small dragon (reptile) to come quietly through just in front of your wheels!

  • Mount Oberon

If like me you only have time for one hike, this is this one! You have an incredible view from the top. The end is quite steep on small stairs but at the top, beautiful rocks allow you to sit quietly to admire the view 😎 .

  • Wildlife walk

At the beginning of Wilson Park there is a particularly protected area and loved by local wildlife: kangaroos, emus, wombat. I know it’s better to go there at the end of the day so I stopped at the return only.

After a few minutes of walking, still nothing on the horizon. Then I saw some kangaroos (including a young one) quietly eating. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Then was around a wombat not at all shy that I spent a few moments! Before seing a big male sinking into the grass.

And on the way back I saw dozens of kangaroos gathered at the same place. In short, I loved it!!

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mentions légales/Legal


Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


%d bloggers like this:

Wilson promontory park – VIC

10 novembre 2019

La deuxième étape de mon road trip dans le Victoria (après Raymond Island) fut le Wilson Promontory park. Je n’ai pu y rester qu’une journée. Et malheureusement la météo n’était pas de mon côté  🙁 .

  • Infos pratiques

Vous pouvez accéder au parc Wilson Promontory pour une journée seulement ou plusieurs jours. Sachez que les campings sont généralement pleins plusieurs jours à l’avance dans les parc nationaux ou alors beaucoup trop chers. Les camps à l’extérieur ne sont pas juste à côté et cela fait perdre pas mal de temps de ressortir pour dormir. Par contre il y a une douche chaude gratuite au centre d’information! L’entrée du parc est quant à elle gratuite et on vous remettra un plan des différentes activités. Comme chaque parc, rouler doucement car la faune est beaucoup plus présente. Il n’est pas rare qu’un petit dragon (reptile) vienne tranquillement traverser juste devant vos roues!

  • Mount Oberon

Si comme moi vous n’avez le temps que pour une rando, c’est celle-ci! On a une vue incroyable depuis le sommet. La fin est assez escarpée sur des petits escaliers mais en haut, de beaux rochers permettent de se poser tranquillement pour admirer la vue  😎 .

  • Wildlife walk

Au début du parc Wilson il y a une zone particulièrement protégée et aimée par la faune locale : kangourous, émeus, wombat. Je sais qu’il est préférable d’y aller en fin de journée c’est pourquoi je m’y suis arrêtée au retour seulement.

Après quelques minutes de marche, toujours rien à l’horizon. Puis j’ai vu quelques kangourous (dont un jeune) manger tranquillement. 

Ce diaporama nécessite JavaScript.

Ensuite se fut autour d’une wombat pas du tout craintive que je passa quelques instants! Avant de voir un gros mâle s’enfoncer dans les herbes.

Et sur le chemin du retour j’ai vu des dizaines de kangourous réunis au même endroit. Bref j’ai adoré!!

Vous aimerez aussi peut être

Pas de commentaire

Laisser un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

Mentions légales/Legal


Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


%d blogueurs aiment cette page :