Bohol and its chocolate hills

12 January 2019

After staying 2 days in Malapascua I joined the island of Bohol for 3 nights and specifically in Tagbilaran.

  • Arrive at Tagbilaran

I mentioned it in my last post, take the boat back since Malapascua is quite folkloric! I then took the bus to Cebu and then a taxi to “Pier 1”, boarding for Bohol. I could not take the first Ferry so I had to wait 1 hour. The crossing with Ocean Jet costs 500PHP + pier fee 25 + luggage for my big bag 50. In short there is always a reason to add a few pesos 😅.

I booked in Open Doors Haven, the disaster!! With the fatigue in addition I almost left directly. But my budget is not extensible I grin and bear it. First, no pillow (!?) And really horrible shower. I just went with my towel and my flip flops because I did not want my stuff to touch anything inside! Apart from that, the mother is very nice (my western mind has found it strange to let her mother manage everything and make her live in bad conditions like that but hey). I managed somehow to book a van for the Bohol Tour.

  • Panglao

The seaside destination here is the island of Panglao. In fact to tell you everything I originally wanted to go on Pamilacan (be careful do not go to Balicasag, it’s a tourist trap). The problem is that when I arrived it was already dark so not easy to plan an activity from the next day. And then it must be said my budget was not expandable either … So I took a jeepne (kind of mini local bus) for 25PHP towards White beach. I liked it so much!!

I had the impression of finding myself in the Paris metro 😂. On arrival there was already people. Those who waited quickly rushed to be sure to have a place. Then everyone sneaks to sit, the difficulty is that everyone has several shopping bag … I waited for everyone to go up, I calculated that it would remain a place for me and there the guy tells me “no more people”. I wanted to tell him: “If I push there, there is space!” 😅.

The beach is quite small and is lined with shop / cafe / tourist restaurants. Not really my ideal!

  • Bohol inside tour

So I had a rendezvous a little further to take a tour in the land. It cost me 1250PHP all inclusive. But know that you can take turns starting at 500 and then pay only for the activities you want to do

  • Chocolate Hills

The first stop was chocolate hills. Once there they will tell you “if you want to go to the point of view you have to pay a 900PHP motorcycle for 1h. We were all shocked and that is after we asked that they explained that in fact we had a free point of view just after by the van.This was to have a better point of view. So we all left for the other point of view! It was the rainy moment of the day but finally it was not did not last.

  • Tarsiers

The second stop was the tarsiers. I knew they were small but I did not expect so much !! Fortunately there is staff for us to show them otherwise I would not have seen at first … They are very sensitive primates who do not hesitate to commit suicide in case of fear. So absolute silence of rigor and no flash!

  • Man-Made forest

Then we stop in this artificial mahogany forest (planted by the man) in Bohol. The road is surrounded by trees is very photogenic!

  • Bamboo bridge

You can cross a traditional bamboo bridge here. A bridge to go and one to return. Attention, there is the queue for the photos!!

  • Lunch on the Loboc River

Then head for the Loboc River to have lunch during a cruise. For info the meal is 500 (it was for my part included). This is an all you can eat buffet. The cruise is very nice but like any tourist attraction that calls a hand to the wallet there is a stop with show (you can go down to dance with them).

  • The “butterfly farm”

I did not put pictures because it is actually a sordid zoo. I set foot in spite of myself (I really thought of seeing butterflies). Once I got my mistake I left as early but too late they already had my money 😥. I could see a crocodile in a mini cage with barely enough water to cover. An albino boa placed in a concrete cage open so that tourists can go take their selfi. Monkeys locked in small cages with barely a trunk to climb. And considering their behavior they were clearly in bad shape.

In short, do not go please!!

  • The church

One last stop will take you to church. I did not come in, I felt I was not in proper clothe (even if they do not ask for anything and I’m not a believer, I respect).

 

I think there are many other beautiful things to discover on Bohol. But do not stay in Tagbilaran because it does not matter. Know that there are also rice fields in Anda, east of the island.

You Might Also Like

1 Comment

  • Reply Siquijor, l'île des sorcières - Travel and run Wednesday January 16th, 2019 at 10:36 AM

    […] Bohol il y a un ferry par jour qui se rend sur Siquijor. Il arrive dans la ville de Larena. Sur cette […]

  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Mentions légales/Legal


    Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

    Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


    %d bloggers like this:

Bohol et ses Chocolate Hills

12 janvier 2019

Après mes deux jours à Malapascua j’ai rejoins l’île de Bohol pour 3 nuits et plus précisément à Tagbilaran.

  • Arrivée à Tagbilaran

Je l’évoquait dans mon dernier article, prendre le bateau retour depuis Malapascua est assez folklo! J’ai ensuite pris le bus pour Cebu puis un taxi vers « Pier 1 », l’embarquement pour Bohol. J’ai par contre pas pu prendre le premier Ferry j’ai donc du attendre 1h. La traversée avec Ocean Jet coûte 500PHP + les frais de ports 25 + les frais de bagage pour mon gros sac 50. Bref ici y’a toujours de quoi rajouter quelques pesos 😅.

J’avais réservé dans au Open Doors Haven, la catastrophe!! Avec la fatigue en plus j’ai failli repartir direct. Mais mon budget n’étant pas extensible j’ai pris mon mal en patience. Déjà pas d’oreiller (!?) et douche vraiment horrible. J’y allais juste avec ma serviette et mes tongs tellement je ne voulais pas que mes affaires touchent quoi que ce soit à l’intérieur! En dehors de ça la maman est très gentille (mon esprit d’occidentale a trouvé quand même bizarre de laisser sa mère gérer tout et la faire vivre dans des mauvaises conditions comme ça mais bon). J’ai réussi tant bien que mal à ce qu’ils me bookent un van pour l’excursion de Bohol.

  • Panglao

La destination balnéaire ici c’est l’île de Panglao. En fait pour tout vous dire je voulais à l’origine aller sur Pamilacan (attention n’allez pas à Balicasag c’est un attrape touriste). Le problème est qu’à mon arrivée il faisait déjà nuit donc pas pratique pour prévoir une activités dès le lendemain. Et puis il faut le dire mon budget n’étais pas extensible non plus… Du coup j’ai pris une jeepne (sorte de mini bus local) pour 25PHP en direction de White beach. J’ai trop aimé!!

J’ai eu l’impression de me retrouver devant le métro parisien 😂. A l’arrivée il y avait déjà du monde. Ceux qui attendaient se sont vite bousculés pour être sûr d’avoir une place. Ensuite tout le monde se faufile pour s’asseoir, la difficulté est que chacun a plusieurs sac de courses… J’ai attendu que tout le monde monte, j’avais calculé qu’il resterait une place pour moi et là le gars me dit « no more people ». J’ai eu envie de lui dire : « si je pousse là y’a de la place! » 😅.

La plage est assez petite et est bordée de magasin/café/restaurants à touriste. Pas franchement mon idéal!

  • Tour intérieur de Bohol

J’avais donc rendez-vous un peu plus loin pour faire un tour dans les terres. Cela m’a coûté 1250PHP tout inclus. Mais sachez que vous pouvez prendre des tours à partir de 500 et ensuite payer uniquement les activités que vous souhaitez faire

  • Chocolate Hills

Le premier stop a été chocolate hills. Une fois sur place on vous dira « si vous voulez aller au point de vue il faut payer une moto 900PHP pour 1h. On était tous choqués et c’est qu’après avoir demandé qu’on nous a expliqué qu’en fait on avait un point de vue gratuit juste après avec le van. Là c’était pour avoir un meilleur point de vue. Du coup on est tous partis pour l’autre point de vue! C’était le moment pluvieux de la journée mais finalement ça n’a pas duré.

  • Les Tarsiers

Le deuxième stop a été les tarsiers. Je savais qu’ils étaient petits mais je ne m’attendais pas à autant!! Heureusement qu’il y a du personnel pour nous les montrait sinon je ne les aurais pas vu au début… Ce sont des primates vraiment très sensibles qui n’hésitent pas à se suicider en cas de peur. Donc silence absolu de rigueur et pas de flash!

  • Man-Made forest

Ensuite nous nous arrêtons dans cette forêt artificielle d’acajou (plantée par l’homme) de Bohol. La route est encerclée d’arbres c’est très photogénique!

  • Pont de bambou

Vous pouvez traverser un pont de bambou traditionnel ici. Un pont pour l’aller et un pour le retour. Attention il y a la queue pour les photos!!

  • Déjeuner sur la rivière Loboc

Ensuite direction la rivière Loboc pour aller y déjeuner lors d’une croisère. Pour info le repas est à 500 (c’était pour ma part inclus). Il s’agit d’un buffet à volonté assez bon. La croisière est très sympa mais comme toute attraction touristique qui appelle une main au portefeuille il y a un arrêt avec spectacle (vous pouvez descendre danser avec eux).

  • La « ferme au papillon »

Je ne mettais pas de photos car il s’agit en réalité d’un zoo sordide. J’y ai mis les pieds malgré moi (je pensais vraiment voir que des papillons). Une fois mon erreur comprise je suis partie aussi tôt mais trop tard ils avaient déjà mon argent 😥. J’ai pu voir un crocodile dans une mini cage avec à peine de l’eau pour se couvrir. Un boa albinos posé dans une cage en béton ouverte pour que les touristes puissent aller prendre leur selfi. Des singes enfermés dans des petites cages avec à peine un tronc pour grimper. Et vu leur comportement ils étaient clairement en mal être.

Bref, n’y mettez pas les pieds s’il vous plait!!

  • L’église

Un dernier arrêt vous amènera à l’église. Je ne suis pas entrée, j’estimais ne pas être en tenue adéquate (même s’ils ne demandent rien et que je ne suis pas croyante, je respecte).

 

Je pense qu’il y a pleins d’autres belles choses à découvrir sur Bohol. Mais évitez de rester à Tagbilaran car cela n’a aucun intérêt. Sachez qu’il y a aussi des rizières à Anda, à l’est de l’île.

Vous aimerez aussi peut être

Commentaire

  • Reply Siquijor, l'île des sorcières - Travel and run mercredi 16 janvier 2019 at 10:36

    […] Bohol il y a un ferry par jour qui se rend sur Siquijor. Il arrive dans la ville de Larena. Sur cette […]

  • Laisser un commentaire

    Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

    Mentions légales/Legal


    Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

    Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


    %d blogueurs aiment cette page :