Philippines – Summary, tips and budget

28 February 2019
Malcapuya Coron Philippines

At the end of my WHV in New Zealand I had 3 weeks to “fill” before coming back for a Vipassana meditation retreat. I chose the Philippines, the nearest destination and therefore the cheapest from NZ.

To get to the Philippines I took a ticket with China Southern Airlines. Little wrong note on the way, my flight Auckland-Guangzhou was canceled and they put me on the flight after. Regardless of the fact that it was impossible to have my Guangzhou-Manila flight! I had to contact them to have the flight before instead. So I had a long stopover in China. No problem of visa during a simple stopover in this city. And to stop for more than 8h the company pays a hotel room (you have to make the request). So I was able to rest.

  • Trip

I made sure to have as few domestic flights as I read that they were often postponed / canceled. To know that it can be complicated in boat too because no traffic in case of typhoon warning. In the end I had no problem!

First week

– Day 1 : Manila arrival night I had booked Rappricondotel (1200 per night with breakfast). I read a lot of comments saying that the taxi did not find hotels (in fact it is in an apartment so no street signage). So I opted for a hotel with shuttle.

– Day 2/3/4 : Coron, my favorite of the Philippines! Especially the most remote beaches. I stayed at Happy camper for 350 per night with breakfast. Best human experience of the Philippines as well.

– Day 5/6/7 : Malapascua, my big disappointment of the Philippines! I booked at Aabana. A little away from tourism, quiet. 675 with breakfast on the beach, hammock in the shade, it was top!

Second week

– Day 8/9/10 : Bohol, I booked at Open Doors heaven, the worst hotel of my life! 475 at night. Do not trust the positive comments, I do not really know where they come from (they tried to cancel my trip to cancel my negative comment on booking…). 

– Day 11/12/13/14 : Siquijor,I indulge myself with a room reserved in a resort. At 5800 per night (oops) but it was so relaxing to be in a good bed in a spacious room! And enjoy every night a great sunset 😍

Third week

– Day 15/16/17 Apo Island. There too I booked in a resort, but more for ease as it is complicated to contact the hotels in advance to book. 2700 at night.

– Day 18 : night at Dumaguete, at U feel fun, best quality hostel and nice place of the city. 500 at night.

– Day 19 : Manille, I booked at In&Out guest house, very good hostel, AC not hyper effective 2nd but quiet and safe. 672 night

– Day 20 : flight back

  • Transports in Philippines

Well then I’ll tell you now, you need to take your time 😅.

Plan

For domestic flights several airlines share the market. I personally used Cebu Pacific air and Philippines airlines. Note that some years ago some of them were blacklisted but this is no longer the case at present. Be aware that delays and cancellations are common. Personally my flights have all been changed but a few minutes so it did not cause much disruption. But think about going back to take your international flight. I advise you to return to Manila (or Cebu) the day before. 

I was very satisfied with Cebu Pacific Air but not really with Philippine Airlines (unfortunately only company that operated Coron-Cebu directly). The last one is much more expensive and in addition you will have the right to 10kg included in the hold only (it is written in their conditions still need to know what type of plane you will have!). For the over weight you will need to pay 200PHP / kg. Many tourists make the vases communicating with their cabin luggage at the airport, it’s a bit of a mess…

Train

The train is not at all a common mode of transportation in the Philippines.

Bus/jeepne

The bus is a fairly cheap means of transportation. For long distances they often have AC (but not necessarily all so do not hesitate to ask if the bus that you will take have the AC, it may be only the following).

The jeepne is the local mini bus very borrowed by the Filipinos because very cheap. The comfort is rather basic but personally I really liked taking it! If you want to be immersed in Filipino culture I advise you at least once!

Tricyle

In the Philippines, it’s not the tuk-tuk that rules but the tricycle! It’s a motorcycle to which is added on the side a cabin that can accommodate passengers. You will find it everywhere. It is preferable only for short trips (more expensive than the jeepne or bus).

Electricity plug

In the Philippines electrical plugs are those found in China. There are two rods like in Europe but they are flat! An adapter will be essential.

ATM

ATMs are found everywhere except on some very small islands. They take almost all around 250PHP fees for each withdrawal.

Budget for 3 weeks in Philippines

Be careful my budget takes into account the resorts in which I have been so you can of course get by for much cheaper accommodation level.

Accomodation: 32417,79PHP so 548,24E
Transport : 14737,96PHP so 249,24E (without international flight)
Excursions : 11630PHP so 197,09E
Souvenirs : 279PHP so 4,72E
Food/drink : 9775,5 so 165,65E
Other (withdrawal fees + laundry) : 1677PHP so 28,43E

A total of 70517,25 so 1193,37E. so 3525,86PHP/day so 59,67E/jour. Once again the budget is a little inflated by the resort 😉

For the next time

What I will do again with pleasure :

– Coron!
– Bohol but another part of the island

What I won’t do again :

– Malapascua
– Apo Island (one time is enough)

What to do in addition :

– Banau rice terraces
– Discover Palawan (trying to find places not too touristy)
– Go to see pink beaches!
– Better inform myself to find beaches of fine white sand
– More discover the underwater world

You Might Also Like

3 Comments

  • Reply Mo. Monday March 11th, 2019 at 01:21 PM

    Les philippines sont encore assez méconnues je trouve comparé à ses “cousines” l’Indonésie et la Thailande… Mais je dois avouer que c’est une destination qui me tente vraiment !

    • Reply Travelandrun Tuesday March 12th, 2019 at 08:53 AM

      C’est vrai que c’est pas souvent dans les destinations prisées des français ! J’ai croisé pas mal d’hispaniques (ancienne colonie espagnole) et bien sûr pas mal de chinois. C’est du coup pas une destination peu touristique mais quand même pas autant que la Thaïlande 😊

  • Reply Cj-envadrouille Monday March 11th, 2019 at 04:05 PM

    Merci pour toutes ces recommandations très précieuses pour un futur voyage, la destination me tente bien.

  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Mentions légales/Legal


    Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

    Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


    %d bloggers like this:

Philippines : Résumé, astuces et budget

28 février 2019

A la fin de mon PVT en Nouvelle Zélande j’avais 3 semaines à « occuper » avant de revenir pour une retraite de méditation Vipassana. J’ai choisi les Philippines, destinations la plus près et donc la moins chère depuis la NZ.

Pour me rendre aux Philippines j’ai pris un billet avec la compagnie China Southern Airlines. Petit couac à l’aller, mon vol Auckland-Guangzhou a été annulé et ils m’avaient mis sur le vol d’après. Sans se soucier du fait qu’il était alors impossible d’avoir mon vol Guangzhou-Manille! J’ai du les contacter pour avoir le vol d’avant à la place. J’ai donc eu une longue escale en Chine. Pas de problème de visa lors d’une simple escale dans cette ville. Et pour tout stopover de plus de 8h la compagnie paye une chambre d’hôtel (il faut en faire la demande). J’ai donc pu aller me reposer.

  • Circuit

J’ai fait en sorte d’avoir le moins possible de vols internes car j’avais lu qu’ils étaient souvent reportés/annulés. A savoir que cela peut être compliqué en bateau aussi car aucune circulation en cas d’alerte typhon. Au final je n’ai eu aucun soucis!

Première semaine

– Day 1 : arrivée Manille soir, j’avais réservé à Rappricondotel (1200 la nuit avec petit dej). J’avais lu pas mal de commentaires disant que les taxi ne trouvaient pas les hôtels (en fait c’est dans un appartement donc aucune signalisation sur rue). J’ai donc opté pour un hôtel avec navette.

– Day 2/3/4 : Coron, mon coup de coeur des Philipines! Particulièrement les plages les plus éloignées. J’avais logé à Happy camper pour 350 la nuit avec petit dej. Meilleure expérience humaine des Philippines également.

– Day 5/6/7 : Malapascua, ma grosse déception des Philippines! J’avais réservé à Aabana. Un peu à l’écart du tourisme, au calme. 675 avec petit déjeuné sur la plage, hamac à l’ombre, c’était top!

Deuxième semaine

– Day 8/9/10 : Bohol, j’avais réservé à Open Doors heaven, le pire hôtel de toute ma vie! 475 la nuit. Ne vous fiez pas aux commentaires positifs, je sais pas trop d’où ils sortent (ils ont essayé d’annuler mon voyage pour faire annuler mon commentaire négatif sur booking…). 

– Day 11/12/13/14 : Siquijor, je me suis fait plaisir avec une chambre réservée dans un resort. A 5800 la nuit (oops) mais c’était tellement reposant d’être dans un bon lit dans une chambre spacieuse! Et profiter tous les soirs d’un super couché de soleil 😍

Troisième semaine

– Day 15/16/17 Apo Island. Là aussi je suis allée en resort, mais plus par facilité car c’est compliqué de joindre à l’avance les hôtels pour réserver. 2700 la nuit.

– Day 18 : nuit à Dumaguete, nuit à U feel fun, meilleure qualité d’auberge et coin sympa de la ville. 500 la nuit.

– Day 19 : Manille, j’avais réservé à In&Out guest house, très bonne auberge, clim pas hyper efficace au 2e mais tranquille et safe. 672 la nuit

– Day 20 : vol retour

  • Transports aux Philippines

Bon alors autant vous le dire tout de suite, il faut prévoir votre temps 😅.

Avion

Pour les vols domestiques plusieurs compagnies aériennes se partagent le marché. J’ai personnellement utilisé Cebu Pacific air Philippines airlines. A noter qu’il y a quelques années certaines d’entre elles étaient sur liste noir mais ce n’est plus le cas à l’heure actuelle. Sachez que les retards et annulations sont fréquents. Personnellement mes vols ont tous été modifiés mais de quelques minutes donc cela n’a pas engendré beaucoup de perturbations. Mais pensez-y pour rentrer prendre votre vol international. Je vous conseille de rentrer à Manille (ou Cebu) la veille. 

J’ai été très satisfaite de Cebu Pacific air mais pas vraiment de Philippines Airlines (malheureusement seule compagnie qui opérait Coron-Cebu en direct). Cette dernière est beaucoup plus chère et en plus vous n’aurez le droit qu’à 10kg inclus en soute (c’est écrit dans leurs conditions encore faut-il savoir quel type d’avion on va avoir!). Pour le surplus vous aurez 200PHP/kg. Beaucoup de touristes font les vases communiquant avec leur bagage cabine à l’aéroport, c’est un peu le bordel…

Train

Le train n’est pas du tout un mode de transport usuel aux Philippines.

Bus/jeepne

Le bus est un moyen de transport assez cheap. Pour les longues distances ils ont souvent la clim (mais pas forcément tous donc n’hésitez pas à demander si le bus que vous allez prendre a la clim, il se peut que ce soit uniquement le suivant).

Le jeepne est le mini bus local très emprunté par les philippins car très bon marché. Le confort y est assez sommaire mais personnellement j’ai beaucoup aimé le prendre! Si vous voulez être plongé dans la culture philippines je vous le conseil au moins une fois!

Tricyle

Aux Philippines, ce n’est pas le tuk-tuk qui règne mais le tricycle! Il s’agit d’une moto à laquelle est rajoutée sur le côté une cabine pouvant accueillir des passagers. Vous en trouverez un peu partout. C’est à privilégier uniquement pour de courts trajets (revient plus cher que le jeepne ou bus).

Prise électrique

Aux Philippines les prises électriques sont celles retrouvées en Chine. Il y a deux tiges comme nous mais elles sont plates! Un adaptateur sera donc indispensable.

Distributeurs

Vous trouverez des distributeurs (ATM) un peu partout sauf sur certaines toutes petites îles. Ils prennent quasiment tous autour de 250PHP de frais à chaque retrait.

Budget pour 3 semaines aux Philippines

Attention mon budget tient en compte les resorts dans lesquels j’ai été donc vous pouvez bien sûr vous en tirer pour beaucoup moins cher niveau logement.

Logement : 32417,79PHP soit 548,24E
Transport : 14737,96PHP soit 249,24E (hors vol international)
Excursions : 11630PHP soit 197,09E
Souvenirs : 279PHP soit 4,72E
Nourriture/boisson : 9775,5 soit 165,65E
Autre (frais retrait + lessive) : 1677PHP soit 28,43E

Soit un total de 70517,25 soit 1193,37E. CE qui revient à 3525,86PHP/jour soit 59,67E/jour. Encore une fois le budget est un peu gonflé par le resort 😉

Pour la prochaine fois

Ce que je referais avec plaisir :

– Coron!
– Bohol mais une autre partie de l’île

Ce que je ne referais pas :

– Malapascua
– Apo Island (une fois ça suffit amplement)

Ce qu’il faudra prévoir en plus :

– Les rizières de Banau
– Découvrir Palawan (en essayant de trouver des coins pas trop touristique)
– Aller voir des plages roses!
– Mieux me renseigner pour trouver des plages de sable blanc et fin
– Plus découvrir les fonds sous-marins

Vous aimerez aussi peut être

3 Commentaires

  • Reply Mo. lundi 11 mars 2019 at 13:21

    Les philippines sont encore assez méconnues je trouve comparé à ses « cousines » l’Indonésie et la Thailande… Mais je dois avouer que c’est une destination qui me tente vraiment !

    • Reply Travelandrun mardi 12 mars 2019 at 08:53

      C’est vrai que c’est pas souvent dans les destinations prisées des français ! J’ai croisé pas mal d’hispaniques (ancienne colonie espagnole) et bien sûr pas mal de chinois. C’est du coup pas une destination peu touristique mais quand même pas autant que la Thaïlande 😊

  • Reply Cj-envadrouille lundi 11 mars 2019 at 16:05

    Merci pour toutes ces recommandations très précieuses pour un futur voyage, la destination me tente bien.

  • Laisser un commentaire

    Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.

    Mentions légales/Legal


    Politique de confidentialité/Privacy policy

    Politique de cookie/Cookie policy


    %d blogueurs aiment cette page :